Thanks P@nther it does help. And Krieghund, I totally misread that part of the book…looking at it now it’s plain as day! I feel like that’s not how it worked (for land or sea) way back in Classic, but maybe I’ve just been playing wrong all these years. I guess I just figured if a unit wanted to live in a territory, it had to risk for it. Thanks again!
Posts made by cvoeglein
RE: Non-combat into contested sea zone
Non-combat into contested sea zone
Here’s the scenario: my opponent has, say, a cruiser parked in a particular sea zone. I attack with my own cruiser and win. Can I then, during non-combat, send another cruiser into that sea zone? I think the rules imply that the sea zone is no longer “hostile” the second I kill that cruiser so I could non-combat any sea unit in there, but they don’t say that outright, and that’s different than it works on land, and it seems to me kind of unfair: I feel like if my second cruiser wants that sea zone it should have risk the battle, although I admit it’s mostly academic since the first cruiser won anyway.
I used cruisers as examples precisely because there’s nothing too special about them just to avoid any confusion about special cases for transports, subs, planes, etc.
Looked for an answer to this elsewhere but couldn’t find much, so apologies if this is a repeat. Thanks!