September 19, 2017, 04:05:18 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with ABattlemap  (Read 13701 times)
ncscswitch
Guest
« on: February 27, 2008, 04:20:46 pm »
0

OK, I have finally managed to get the program to open on my system.

Can someone explain to me how to actually USE it?

How to buy?
How to add/subtract pieces?
Does it have a built in dicey or is it just a tracking map?
How to move units?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 02:20:22 pm by DarthMaximus » Logged
tekkyy
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2549


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 05:44:49 pm »
0

To buy click on the unit toolbar and then click on where you want to place the units.

To add is same as to buy. To subtract go to top right corner and click DEL and then click on units.
(Play with ctrl/alt/shift to see the effects of 5X or 10X and stuff.)

It doesn't have built in dicey. Yeah sort of just a tracking map.

To move units just drag.
Logged
ncscswitch
Guest
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 05:47:56 pm »
0

So it is just an annoying to use game board that can be e-mailed?

Logged
tekkyy
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2549


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 05:52:10 pm »
0

Well. Its a simple light weight electronic board.
And has territory IPC and units value count for you.

I've heard of a BotB implementation on MapView with built-in dice though.
Logged
ncscswitch
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2008, 05:54:21 pm »
0

Sounds like I am going to double-map in the coming DAAK tournament... I HAVE to use Battlemap, but the "larger units" thing does not work, nor does Territory Name.

I can;t SEE those little freakin icons!  And I don;t have a small monitor!
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48266


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2008, 05:59:39 pm »
0

Battlemap is just a map.  It has some nice features in it, however.

1)  To move pieces you can either move each one individually with the mouse or, you can use shift+mouse to move 5 units, control+mouse to move ten units or shift+control+mouse to move entire stacks.

2)  The same keyboard/mouse combinations work to add and subtract pieces from the board.  Basically, it replicates the old chips (including the 10 chips that many people have added to their boxes. Tongue  )

3)  There are no dice in the program.

4)  It will keep a running tally on how many navy units you have (in IPC value) and how many combined land/air units you have.

5)  As you add and subtract flags, it automatically adjusts the IPC value of each nation for you.  Great for collecting income since you don't have to worry about miscounting.

6)  Many people will put flags in the Sahara to represent rounds of play.  They will also use flags in Saudia Arabia to represent cash on hand for each nation.

7)  To get a unit list, go to View ==> List Units

Cool  If your toolbars disappear, go into the directory and delete the abattlemap.ini file (it's the only ini file in there.)  Restart battlemap and the program will rebuild your ini file and put the toolbars back in the default location.  To stop this from needing to be done, do not put the toolbars on the extreme sides of the board. (XP and Vista will kick them off the screen where you cannot see them.  It's whacked.)

9)  To open a file you have to open Battlemap then open the file from inside battlemap.  If anyone figures out a way to fix that, let me know.  Someone did once, I got it to work on my old desktop, then moved to the laptop and it didn't work.  Forgot what I did to make it work.

10)  Yes, the icons take a while to get used too.  But think of it this way, at least you can see 90% of the board or more without scrolling 400 times like in mapview!
Logged
axis_roll
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 4449


Spring 2008 Singles champion (Gold medalist)


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2008, 06:17:11 pm »
0

Sounds like I am going to double-map in the coming DAAK tournament... I HAVE to use Battlemap, but the "larger units" thing does not work, nor does Territory Name.

I can;t SEE those little freakin icons!  And I don;t have a small monitor!

You mean USE BIG PIECES doesn't do anything for you?
Do you have the big pieces BMP?
I've attached the file here (with a .jpg extention so it will load)

load this file in C:\Program Files\ABattleMap\AAR.gim as bigpieces.bmp
then click use big pieces, then close program.

upon reopen, you should see the nicer big icons

Also, you can Zoom in/out with the use of the "+" on the numeric key pad (zoom in) and the "-" on the numeric key pad (back out)
Logged
tekkyy
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2549


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2008, 09:02:31 pm »
0

yeah it was strange with larger icons
I had to copy it from AARe (RHE dir) to revised (AAR dir)
of course, you have to download AARe first but axis_roll has uploaded it for you
Logged
Zero Pilot
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2008, 01:13:58 am »
0

So it is just an annoying to use game board that can be e-mailed?

Switch you sure gave me a laugh. grin
Logged
TimTheEnchanter
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 5432


There are some who call me... Tim.


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2008, 12:02:51 pm »
0

The problem with using BigPieces is that if you use a map from someone using the normal pieces, they could be placed too close together and when you view it with the big pieces turned on they will overlap and be more difficult to see.  What I found necessary to make battlemap usable was to redraw the normal sized toolpieces bitmap so that they were easily distinquishable. 

Here's the one I use.


You would just put this file in your Program Files/ABattlemap/AAR folder as toolpieces.bmp (I'd highly recommend saving off the original before overwriting it.)
Logged
TimTheEnchanter
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 5432


There are some who call me... Tim.


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2008, 02:31:22 pm »
0

Hmmm... it appears that the image was converted to jpg and the quality seriously degraded when I put it on aycu.  I'll just attach the bitmap file.  I've added the extension .txt to get it to load on the boards, just remove this extension from the bmp file and it should work.
Logged
Lmtdconv
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1560


2008 League Record: 3 wins, 4 losses


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 29, 2008, 07:59:40 am »
0

Switch, Could you please sticky this.  This is some of the best info about battlemap that I have seen yet.  I had no clue on the Ctr or Shift key funtctions.  + Karma to Tekky and Jen for the Info.

Logged
DarthMaximus
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 20825


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 29, 2008, 02:19:58 pm »
0

That's not a bad idea.

Might as well make this the general "help with Battlemap" thread.
Logged
ncscswitch
Guest
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2008, 02:37:44 pm »
0

Is there a trick to starting/ending a turn or placing bid units so that it tracks the land values and cash spent?  I can;t seem to figure that part out...  It just lets me add or remove ANYONE'S units at any time with no effect on the cash...

Logged
a44bigdog
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 15365



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2008, 12:58:56 am »
0

The "cash" is kept by putting flag markers in Saudi Arabia. This has to be manually adjusted each turn, just like the money in a FTF game. At least the Infoview box tracks the IPC counts for each nation and IPC values of land and naval units. Maybe its just me but the IPC count board seems to be of great annoyance in FTF games. Think less of Battlemap as a program such as TripleA and more of a virtual gameboard and it should seem a bit more natural.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!