• How does the Soviet Union fair under Trotsky and not Stalin in the 1920s -1940s?

• @ABWorsham4

Quite, quite an, um, giant topic. I don’t look at this area of history at all (post revolution Soviet struggles), and the views of these Soviet leaders are seemingly very complicated and hard to wrap my head around.

I’m no expert, but if everything Trotsky wanted could be carried out and had the expected results, I’m not sure much about the military side of the war would be different. The economy would’ve probably not been worse, so the Soviet military would probably been at least as good as it was in 1939.

Based on my exceedingly brief research, Trotsky probably would’ve opposed Nazi Germany. It’s possible he would’ve tried harder to gain victory in Spain, but I doubt a war would’ve been triggered then. The Axis weren’t exactly prepared, both countries were still separated, and if the purges didn’t occur the Soviets may even have been too intimidating at the time for the Axis to consider war.

Even if the Soviets teamed up with the Allies, it’s possible Germany would’ve still invaded Poland, depending on how much the Soviet military would be held in contempt in this alternative timeline’s 1939.

I can’t say much more or further than that without feeling that I’m lying.

On the bright side, if the Soviet democracy thing works out, the Allies can truly be called democracies fighting facism, rather than a dictatorship spoiling the whole nice, simple narrative.

Obviously the details of, well, everything, pre and postwar, would be different, but I don’t see much changing in the giant scheme of things. The Soviets win, the Nazis lose.

• @ABWorsham4

I asked AI this question (and also found some answers on Quora).

Would you like me to paste those here as well.

• @SuperbattleshipYamato Yes, please. You have my attention.

• @ABWorsham4 said in Trotsky Not Stalin:

How does the Soviet Union fair under Trotsky and not Stalin in the 1920s -1940s?