September 22, 2017, 09:56:10 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Poll
Question: Do AAA provide a static defense against blitzing?
Allow the tank to destroy the AAA - 0 (0%)
Or have the AAA prevent blitzing - 8 (100%)
Total Voters: 8

Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this move legal?  (Read 1437 times)
Uvator
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: November 20, 2016, 08:42:58 pm »
0

So I am posting here for the first time with a question I have never had asked before. I settled down and taught a new group of four to play Axis and Allies : Europe 2nd edition.

The game started very average and progressed normally until Italy's second move then Mussulini just ran away with it. Germany had some issues with Yugoslavia and France, so Italy took over AAA defense of Western Europe.

Finally down to the question at hand... Germany has AAA all over, but Italy has one unit in Paris (which has no other units in it). If a tank wins a battle in Normandy or Holland, can it blitz an area that has only Anti Aircraft guns (which normally don't provide defense) or do they provide what I would consider a 'static' defense against this move.

The question got raised by a first time player and I was astounded that it had never gotten brought before.

This is the difference between losing France or Winning as the Nazis. What's y'all's verdict?
Logged
Ozymandiac
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 508



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2016, 11:25:42 pm »
+1

Hi Uvator, welcome to the forums.

Be careful with "If a tank wins a battle in Normandy or Holland, can it blitz an area". Once a unit has fought in the combat phase, it can no longer move in the noncombat phase (planes are the exception). So no double battles. But let's assume there's a tank in Normandy at the beginning of your turn.

Answer to your question comes directly from the rulebook, page 15.

"A tank (or mechanized infantry) that encounters enemy units, including AAA (antiaircraft artillery) units, or an industrial complex, air base, or naval base, in the first territory it enters must stop there and may not blitz.".

So in your case there would be 3 reasons you cannot blitz through Paris: there is an AAA, there is an industrial complex, and there is an airbase.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!