September 20, 2017, 10:58:12 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AAP40 FAQ  (Read 33605 times)
LuckyDay
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 549



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2010, 09:08:21 am »
0

So, if the UK/ANZAC attack Japan first, can Japan counter without bringing the US into the war?

Yes.

This would not be an 'unprovoked attack' by Japan, but would require the declaration of war by Japan on the subsequent turn to UK/ANZAC.  Japan could certainly defend itself in the UK/ANZAC attacks, but if they go offensive their next turn it changes the status of combatants.  It seems that this is indeed what it is meant, however the wording still seems ambiguously vague.

Again, the phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules, and attacks may not be done without a declaration of war.  It seems to me that declaring war upon someone that has already declared war upon you is not "unprovoked".  Forgive me, but I'm not seeing any ambiguity.

The ambiguity was indeed worse in the previous incarnation of the FAQ and the official rules, albeit this one is much better, though can still be evidenced in the first question's answer above.  Partly this is because you have to explain game mechanics through the eyes of how real life works, what with ��� ships sneaking past ships and declaring war with bombs rather than words, alas...

If UK attacks Japan, you are telling me that a state of war occurs between UK/ANZAC and Japan, as well as the Dutch, but not between them and the US.  So if UK attacks Japan on UK1, then Japan can freely attack UK/Anzac or the Dutch without bringing the US into the war until turn 3, unless they also attack the US before that because it was an unprovoked declaration of war by the UK on Japan.

However, if Japan attacks the Dutch on J1, then they are at war with the Dutch, UK/anzac and the US immediately and really no declaration of war is needed because of an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan.

A declaration of war can be made and acted upon some of the powers by others, and in some cases that will create a state of war between them and in some cases not.  I just wanted the clarification on what was intended to be meant so we know where 'house rules' would start.

thanks- appreciate the help.
   
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2010, 09:53:49 am »
0

However, if Japan attacks the Dutch on J1, then they are at war with the Dutch, UK/anzac and the US immediately and really no declaration of war is needed because of an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan.

Not exactly.  If Japan declares war on UK/ANZAC on J1, war with the US does not immediately result.  It does, however, give the US the ability to declare war on Japan on any subsequent turn.
Logged
kdfsjljklgjfg
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 331


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2010, 03:06:40 pm »
0

Still not clear on this 'declaration of war' & 'unprovoked attack', even after reading the redone format in the FAQ.  Played it different ways a few times, and just want to grasp the way it is intended so we know what becomes the house rules..

The US cannot declare war on Japan unless they are attacked by Japan or an unprovoked attack by Japan on UK or ANZAC.  

The phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules.  Attacks may not be done without a declaration of war.  The US may not declare war on Japan before the Collect Income phase of its third turn unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against UK/ANZAC.


So, if the UK/ANZAC attack Japan first, can Japan counter without bringing the US into the war?

Yes.

This seems to apply only if the UK declares war first, but considering that if the UK enters China, then Japan declares war on the UK, would an attack on UK troops be unprovoked since they declared war first?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2010, 03:52:45 pm »
0

No, it would not.  Allied powers may not move units into China without first declaring war on Japan.
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2010, 08:18:11 pm »
0

However, if Japan attacks the Dutch on J1, then they are at war with the Dutch, UK/anzac and the US immediately and really no declaration of war is needed because of an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan.

Not exactly.  If Japan declares war on UK/ANZAC on J1, war with the US does not immediately result.  It does, however, give the US the ability to declare war on Japan on any subsequent turn.
Interesting.  This is new to me.  Are all declarations of war non-reciprocal?  So if, for example, Japan is the first to declare war in a game, they are still not subject to convoy raids during the turn in which they declared war, correct?
Logged
moompix
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2010, 08:53:47 pm »
0

However, if Japan attacks the Dutch on J1, then they are at war with the Dutch, UK/anzac and the US immediately and really no declaration of war is needed because of an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan.

Not exactly.  If Japan declares war on UK/ANZAC on J1, war with the US does not immediately result.  It does, however, give the US the ability to declare war on Japan on any subsequent turn.
Interesting.  This is new to me.  Are all declarations of war non-reciprocal?  So if, for example, Japan is the first to declare war in a game, they are still not subject to convoy raids during the turn in which they declared war, correct?

The condition for convoy disruption:

Isn't - At least one warship belonging to a power that has declared war on the power collecting income must be in the sea zone.

It's - At least one warship belonging to a power with which you are at war must be in the sea zone.

The ships of any power that Japan has declared war on, during a turn, would meet this requirement during the collect income phase of that same turn.



The US not being at war with Japan, after Japan declares on the UK, isn't a non-reciprocal situation. My understanding is that declarations of war are reciprocal. There is one line in the Errata that gives the impression they aren't.

The line: "The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC." - The green part is probably not necessary because later in the Errata there's the following line:

"If a power is not yet at war with another power, and there are no restrictions currently keeping them from being at war (see The Political Situation on pg. 8 ), it may declare war on that power."

If Japan has declared war on the US, then the US is NOT "not yet at war". The US is at war with Japan, because Japan declared war on the US. A declaration by the US is unnecessary.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2010, 07:28:46 am by moompix » Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2010, 09:46:19 pm »
0

thanks moompix, but Krieg's comment which you quoted me quoting indicates that declarations of war are NOT automatically reciprocal... and the parts of the FAQ which you quoted do not contradict that... unless I am missing something.

And thank you for pointing out the specifics of the convoy rules.  My question now is what is an "enemy" power?  I would think that any power with you you are at war OR who is at war with you would be considered an enemy, but if that's the case then I don't understand the point of declarations of war being non-reciprocal.  does it make a difference?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 01, 2010, 07:14:38 am »
0

A declaration of war is required by the rules to enter into a state of war with another power, but that's all it really does.  It's a state of war between powers that dictates their relations, and a state of war is reciprocal.  If Japan declares war on the US, a state of war exists between those two powers.  The US has not yet declared war, but that's just a formality.

The quoted answer of mine does not contradict this, as it refers to an unprovoked Japanese declaration of war against UK/ANZAC not resulting in an immediate state of war between Japan and the US.  The US may create a state of war between it and Japan by declaring war on Japan in its next turn.

By the way, the requirement for a convoy raid is actually "At least one warship belonging to a power with which you are at war must be in the sea zone."  If Japan declares war on another power, it is subject to convoy raids by that power in the same turn.
Logged
moompix
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2010, 07:38:27 am »
0

Yes, always check the errata for updated versions of the rules you quote. I sometimes forget this.
 
« Last Edit: March 01, 2010, 07:40:02 am by moompix » Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2010, 09:02:17 pm »
0

A declaration of war is required by the rules to enter into a state of war with another power, but that's all it really does.  It's a state of war between powers that dictates their relations, and a state of war is reciprocal.  If Japan declares war on the US, a state of war exists between those two powers.  The US has not yet declared war, but that's just a formality.

The quoted answer of mine does not contradict this, as it refers to an unprovoked Japanese declaration of war against UK/ANZAC not resulting in an immediate state of war between Japan and the US.  The US may create a state of war between it and Japan by declaring war on Japan in its next turn.

By the way, the requirement for a convoy raid is actually "At least one warship belonging to a power with which you are at war must be in the sea zone."  If Japan declares war on another power, it is subject to convoy raids by that power in the same turn.
Great, thank you.  So even if Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against UK/ANZAC while it is not yet at war the US, then it is not subject to convoy raid by the US at the end of that turn.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2010, 06:10:00 am »
0

Correct.
Logged
fanofbond
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 220


Only tell someone the rules when it favors me.


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2010, 07:25:58 am »
0

I have a question about subs and submerging. Can a sub
make a surprise attack and then submerge or is it locked into that round of combat? 
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2010, 11:35:04 am »
0

It either fires or submerges - it can't do both.  If it fires, it will be in the battle for the rest of that round.
Logged
twodogs
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2010, 07:54:20 am »
0

Here's the situation:

Calcutta has been captured by the Japanese, but the US liberates Hong Kong.  Can the US use the industrial complex while the British have been knocked out of the war?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2010, 08:07:10 am »
0

Welcome, twodogs!

Yes.  Since the UK capital is held by Japan, the US takes control of the territory, including IPC income, AA guns and all facilities.  If India is liberated, the US must return control of the territory and its facilities (but not its AA guns) to the UK at that time.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!