September 23, 2017, 06:50:04 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
Author Topic: FAQ 1.0 for Bulge  (Read 21293 times)
lorgarth
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: December 26, 2006, 06:51:40 pm »
0


 However the two sides alternate choosing hexes to attack from. The game is very fluid in that respect.

Hope that helps.  smiley

So it is not that one side does all its attacks first but that if it is the first turn the Axis chooses a hex to attack from and to and that battle is resolved, then the allies choose a battle until niether side can or wants to attack anymore, then it moves to the next phase?

Thanks
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2006, 05:06:33 am »
0

Logarth your example is completely wrong. I don't have time to elaborate now but you are misunderstanding the combat system.

First thing to do is forget the A&A combat sytem from ALL other games when you play BOTB.  smiley
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 27, 2006, 09:38:00 am »
0

First off check this out:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/article/ah20061110a

Now that is similar to the rule book.

We have a hex with 6 Allied INF in it (the most that can be in any one hex.) This hex will be attacked by 1 INF, 1 ARM and 1 ART.

We pull down the combat strip till we have boxes matching the number of our defending units (which for the INF is all the way out you can only have six.)

We figure the dice we will roll- 1 for the INF, 2 for the ARM and 3 for the ART for six total.

We roll our dice and each result of six or less is a hit. We get 1,2,3,4,5,6. We can think of these as addresses.

So we have six hits. Now we use the results to determine what units will be destoyed, retreat or hold their ground.

Starting in the top left and working our way down we put the dice in the combat strip. In this case each box will have one die. Any unit with one die in its box must retreat one hex. In this case all units must retreat.

Were the results 1,1,2,2,3,3. We would have three boxes with two dice each and 3 boxes with no dice. In this case 3 Units are destroyed and 3 units would remain in the hex. A unit must have at least two dice in order to be destroyed.

Were the results 1,1,1,1,1,1 only one unit would be destroyed. All the other hits go to waste and five units hold their ground.

In all cases the Axis units remain in the hex they attacked from until they are attacked and forced to retreat or moved in the movement phase.

edit: I corrected a minor error that might make folks thinka six didn't hit. Six or less is a hit.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2007, 03:54:46 pm by frimmel » Logged
lorgarth
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 27, 2006, 02:31:59 pm »
0

First off check this out:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/article/ah20061110a

Now that is similar to the rule book.

We have a hex with 6 Allied INF in it (the most that can be in any one hex.) This hex will be attacked by 1 INF, 1 ARM and 1 ART.

We pull down the combat strip till we have boxes matching the number of our defending units (which for the INF is all the way out you can only have six.)

We figure the dice we will roll- 1 for the INF, 2 for the ARM and 3 for the ART for six total.

We roll our dice and each result of less than six is a hit. We get 1,2,3,4,5,6. We can think of these as addresses.

So we have six hits. Now we use the results to determine what units will be destoyed, retreat or hold their ground.

Starting in the top left and working our way down we put the dice in the combat strip. In this case each box will have one die. Any unit with one die in its box must retreat one hex. In this case all units must retreat.

Were the results 1,1,2,2,3,3. We would have three boxes with two dice each and 3 boxes with no dice. In this case 3 Units are destroyed and 3 units would remain in the hex. A unit must have at least two dice in order to be destroyed.

Were the results 1,1,1,1,1,1 only one unit would be destroyed. All the other hits go to waste and five units hold their ground.

In all cases the Axis units remain in the hex they attacked from until they are attacked and forced to retreat or moved in the movement phase.


OK that makes it much clearer then the book states it.

Thank you for your time in helping me understand this.
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: December 27, 2006, 03:15:12 pm »
0

Glad to help.

I was going to go thru it with 2 INF, 2 ARM, 2 ART defending.

With those units say we got the 1,1,1,1,1,1 an INF would be destroyed.

If instead we had 6,6,6,6,6,6 an ART would be destroyed.

The 1,1,2,2,3,3, would be 2 INF and 1 ARM destroyed. 3,3,4,4,5,5 would be 1 ARM, 2 ART.

When you have more than six units re-roll the dice that have hit and use those results to determine the "address." Say 8 units defending and you had a re-roll for address come up 9 it would wrap around and go in the 1 "address." 

Keep in mind that each die that ends up on the Trucks or Supplies "address" destroys a truck or a supply.

Welcome to the site.  smiley
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2007, 09:27:56 am »
0

Revised FAQ is up at the AH boards.

http://boards.avalonhill.com/showthread.php?t=16817
Logged
ShadowHAwk
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: June 17, 2013, 01:28:14 am »
0

Revised FAQ is up at the AH boards.

http://boards.avalonhill.com/showthread.php?t=16817

Got a question that isnt in the FAQ.

As supplies get captured at the update phase could you still use your supplies if an enemy unit is on top of them?

Logical would be no but then again movement would go simultaniously so you would have already payed the supply before the other guy moves.
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2013, 03:29:19 am »
0

You can't use supplies if an enemy unit is in the hex even if the supplies are still on your side of the front line markers.

Per Krieghund here only about half way down the front page of this forum: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=26366.0
Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 24949


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2015, 07:32:26 am »
0

Question:

If you blitz a tank out of an enemy zone of control into an open space, which is on a road, then can the tank continue moving along the road for its second movement until it hits a town or another enemy zone of control?

Thanks

Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 24949


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2015, 09:40:22 am »
0

Question:

If you blitz a tank out of an enemy zone of control into an open space, which is on a road, then can the tank continue moving along the road for its second movement until it hits a town or another enemy zone of control?

Thanks



The point of this question relates to a game where the germans were able to blitz tanks out of the allied zone of control and then on the second blitz move, spread out and seize like 4 towns for the win.

Also, the win is automatic right, in that the allies do not get a chance to respond the moment the Germans achieve the victory condition?
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2015, 12:52:46 pm »
0

Question:

If you blitz a tank out of an enemy zone of control into an open space, which is on a road, then can the tank continue moving along the road for its second movement until it hits a town or another enemy zone of control?

Thanks



A blitz allows you only one hex after you would normally be required to stop. Entering a road hex from a non-road hex would cause you to stop during normal movement. If that is your "blitz" move entering the road hex is your one hex more. If the blitz move is starting on the road hex it is still only one more hex. See page 10 of the rulebook.

You may only move one hex when leaving an enemy zone of control.

Victory is determined during the upkeep phase. So both sides get to complete all combat and movement before determining victory.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2015, 12:59:23 pm by frimmel » Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 24949


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2015, 01:20:13 pm »
0

So if the tank starts in a enemy zone control road hex, pays for a blitz, the the tank can move out of the the enemy zone of control along the road to the open road hex and can then only move 1 more space even though the tank is making its second move on a open road hex?

I guess to put it more simply, a tank can only make unlimited moves on a road if it starts on an open road hex? 

thanks
Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 24949


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2015, 01:23:30 pm »
0

Ok, I went back and read the rule... makes sense to me know.  Blitz only gets you 1 extra move no matter what.

Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: November 25, 2015, 06:18:15 am »
0

Yes, the tank must start on a road hex, not in an enemy ZOC to go anywhere it likes on the road.

A tank beginning movement in an enemy zone of control and paying for a blitz move will only move two hexes. One and stop because of leaving enemy ZOC. One and stop because of the blitz. Irregardless of the presence of roads in the hexes.

Also if the road is not crossing the same side of the hex the moving unit is crossing it is not movement along a road.

« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 06:21:09 am by frimmel » Logged
Pages: « 1 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!