September 21, 2014, 12:05:47 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Do you live near Cincinnati? Join us this weekend for A&A Spring Gathering XI on April 5-6, 2013. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Global 2nd edition FAQ ( AAG40.2)  (Read 52257 times)
Munck
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #255 on: January 16, 2013, 09:12:20 pm »
0

Question about convoying:

It is explained in the European manual page 24 that a sub in SZ97 can cost Italy up to 2 IPCs. This confuses me.

There are 8 IPC's (Northern Italy, Southern Italy & Albania) worth of territories bordering SZ97, so in theory a single sub can cost 6 IPC's (two dice rolls * 3). Italy can max loose 8 IPC's from SZ97. Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35924


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #256 on: January 16, 2013, 11:23:17 pm »
0

Question about convoying:

It is explained in the European manual page 24 that a sub in SZ97 can cost Italy up to 2 IPCs. This confuses me.

There are 8 IPC's (Northern Italy, Southern Italy & Albania) worth of territories bordering SZ97, so in theory a single sub can cost 6 IPC's (two dice rolls * 3). Italy can max loose 8 IPC's from SZ97. Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.
No, you're exactly right.  The explanation you are referring to appears to have been overlooked in the changes since OOB.  There was a time when a sub did 2 IPC's worth of damage, but you are correct that it could do between 0 and 6 IPC's of damage in Z97 as shown in the example.

Welcome to the boards!  Hopefully you'll grace us with more of your thoughtful posts in the future.
Logged
Munck
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #257 on: January 16, 2013, 11:29:18 pm »
0

Quote
No, you're exactly right.  The explanation you are referring to appears to have been overlooked in the changes since OOB.  There was a time when a sub did 2 IPC's worth of damage, but you are correct that it could do between 0 and 6 IPC's of damage in Z97 as shown in the example.

Welcome to the boards!  Hopefully you'll grace us with more of your thoughtful posts in the future.


Thank you for clearing this up  smiley
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4387


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #258 on: January 17, 2013, 05:54:46 am »
0

From the FAQ errata:
Quote
Page 24, Convoy Disruption Example 2: The first sentence should read “On Italy’s turn, the UK submarine in sea zone 97 can cost Italy up to 6 IPCs.”
Logged
Zhukov44
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 7538


View Profile
« Reply #259 on: January 17, 2013, 02:30:44 pm »
0

Good question from a thread earlier today.

Quote
Axis achieve victory for controlling 8 victory cities on the european side or 6 victory cities on the pacific side for one complete round of play. What does this mean? Example: Germany takes its 8th victory city. Russia takes it back. Japan then takes it back. USA takes it back, and UK reinforces. Italy then takes it back, giving axis 8 victory cities. Anzac and France can't liberate a victory city. On Germany's next turn, axis control 8 victory cities. Do the axis win? They didn't control eight victory cites for a complete round, but they had 8 at the end of their last turn and now have 8 at the start of their turn. It would have been nice if the rulebook defined the victory conditions a little better. I have no idea the definition of a complete round. Also have victory conditions changed since the first addition, and if so what was that change?
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35924


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #260 on: January 17, 2013, 07:48:50 pm »
0

This exact question has been addressed on the FAQ (earlier thread), so I know the correct answer with certainty.

The Axis have to control 8 cities or more (or 6 for Pacific) CONTINUOUSLY for an entire round of play.

Say Italy takes over London for the Axis 8th city on I10.  The Axis will win on I11 if the Allies never take (or re-take) a European victory city at any time between I10 and I11.  If at any time between I10 and I11 the Axis lose a city and dip below 8, the clock has to start all over again at such time as the Axis re-claim an 8th city.  If the Axis get 9 or more cities, they can lose a city and still win on I11, as long as they never dip below 8 at any time.

« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 07:52:05 pm by Gamerman01 » Logged
Zhukov44
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 7538


View Profile
« Reply #261 on: January 21, 2013, 01:04:55 pm »
0

Thanks for the above clarification Gamerman.

Here's another one.  Is it legal to place ICs on a friendly neutral activated on the same turn?  I'm thinking no but I'd prefer to be certain.
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #262 on: January 21, 2013, 01:07:59 pm »
0

No.  You can only place facilities on territories that were under your control at the beginning of your turn.
Logged
Jeff28
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2786



View Profile
« Reply #263 on: January 23, 2013, 11:59:13 am »
0

Sub on sub naval battle:

Does the attacking sub get a free shot before the defender can submerge?

If submerge is chosen by the defender, if a 1 or 2 is rolled does the first shot sink the sub?

--Jeff
Logged
Jeff28
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2786



View Profile
« Reply #264 on: January 23, 2013, 12:00:48 pm »
0

And is the above scenario correctly handled by Triple A?
Logged
Eggman
A&A.org Bomber
*
*****
Posts: 2028


Goo Goo G'Joob!


View Profile
« Reply #265 on: January 23, 2013, 02:08:06 pm »
0

Sub on sub naval battle:

Does the attacking sub get a free shot before the defender can submerge?

If submerge is chosen by the defender, if a 1 or 2 is rolled does the first shot sink the sub?

--Jeff

Krieghund said the official answer is `yes` in this post:

http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28344.0

However, the official rulebook for 2e Europe '40 doesn't support that, so maybe the rules are different between versions:

(2e Rules p 19, my emphasis):`Attacking or defending submarines that choose to submerge are immediately removed from the battle strip and returned to the game board in the contested sea zone, removing them from the remaining battle sequences.  Note: Decisions on whether attacking and defending submarines will fire or submerge must be made before any dice are rolled by either side. The attacking player decides first.

Each attacking submarine conducting a Surprise Strike rolls one die. Attacking submarines that roll a 2 or less
score a hit. After the attacking player has rolled for all attacking submarines, the defender chooses 1 sea unit submarines cant hit air units) for each hit scored and moves it behind the casualty strip. (Note: Undamaged
capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.) Then each defending submarine conducting a Surprise
Strike rolls one die. Defending submarines that roll a 1 score a hit. After the defending player has rolled
for all defending submarines, the attacker chooses 1 sea unit for each hit scored and removes it from play. (Note: Undamaged capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.)

Note: In both cases, attacking or defending, transports can be chosen as casualties only if there are no other
eligible units. Submerged submarines cant be chosen as casualties since they have been removed from the battle. Once all attacking and defending submarines that conducted a Surprise Strike have fired, the casualties they have generated are removed from the game and this step (step 2) is over for this round of combat.`
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4387


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #266 on: January 23, 2013, 03:02:55 pm »
0

Different game, different rules.
Logged
Eggman
A&A.org Bomber
*
*****
Posts: 2028


Goo Goo G'Joob!


View Profile
« Reply #267 on: January 23, 2013, 05:28:04 pm »
0

Different game, different rules.

My mistake, sorry for the confusion.  It's getting hard to keep track of all the subtle differences between these variants in my old age.
Logged
P-Unit
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 152


View Profile
« Reply #268 on: January 27, 2013, 09:54:05 pm »
0

Different game, different rules.

I don't understand. The Global rules are the 1940 2e Europe rules.

The 1940 Europe 2e rules state all decisions to Submerge or First Strike are made before dice are rolled. It also says:
"Attacking or defending submarines that choose to
submerge are immediately removed from the battle strip
and returned to the game board in the contested sea zone,
removing them from the remaining battle sequences."

I'm seriously confused now. lol   undecided
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35924


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #269 on: January 27, 2013, 10:18:00 pm »
0

I don't understand. The Global rules are the 1940 2e Europe rules.

The 1940 Europe 2e rules state all decisions to Submerge or First Strike are made before dice are rolled. It also says:
"Attacking or defending submarines that choose to
submerge are immediately removed from the battle strip
and returned to the game board in the contested sea zone,
removing them from the remaining battle sequences."

I'm seriously confused now. lol   undecided
If there are no enemy destroyers present, subs get to choose whether they will submerge or not, before any dice are rolled in the battle.  (Therefore, if you are not attacking with at least one destroyer, it is impossible to attack or sink an enemy submarine if the defender elects to immediately submerge, which is his right)

If the subs do not submerge, then they will have surprise strike capability (no enemy destroyers are present) every round.

The subs roll first and enemy casualties are chosen before all the non-sub units are rolled.

Then in the next round of combat, when the subs would normally roll, the subs have a new opportunity to submerge.  It is a sub by sub decision, that is, you can submerge some subs without submerging others, and every new round of combat you get to make the decision again.  Once a sub is submerged, it is returned to the gameboard in that seazone (so can NEVER re-enter the battle)

Submerging is not the same as retreating.  Submerged subs stay in the same sea zone.  Retreating subs (any retreat must always be a group retreat with all the other boats) would be moved back to an adjacent sea zone from which at least one attacking sea unit travelled or originated.

Do you have any more unresolved questions about submarines still?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2013, 10:20:53 pm by Gamerman01 » Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2014 Support Drive
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Field Marshal Games

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2014 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!