Chicago rules variant:





Version 2.0 (Dec 2010)
1941 China Mods: 

China gets to NCM their fighter and place their IC before start of game play

China gets an IC to place units at.  It works like the mobile industry NA in AARe:  can move one territory per turn and place units there (no unit limit on placement of Chinese units)

If you lose the IC, China not longer can 'purchase' units.

China collects income at the end of a turn just like any other country.

$2 inf for China, other unit costs are unchanged

China can save unspent IPCs 

Total modifications: 

1) Above mentioned China mods

2) $4 NO's ($8 for the one Russian NO that is $10 in AH rules)

3) Closed Restricted Dardenelles straight:  Bulgaria is the only territory accessible via

   transport(s) in sz16
4) SBR escorts in play (see appendix for reference).  The AH escort rules are modified 

   so that SBR FTR escorts not subject to AAA fire
5) This Avalon Hill errata ruling limiting the scope of the Increased Factory Production 

   Will not be used in Chicago Rules games:

 Page 12, Breakthrough Chart 1 – Increased Factory Production: The first sentence should be replaced with: "Each of your industrial complexes in a territory worth 3 or more IPCs can now produce two additional units beyond its listed IPC value."
6) Tech rules (optional): Choose between Tech via a Point System or
Enhanced version of Tech in AA50 (page 2 of this document)
FAQs:
1. Are all Chinese units limited to China and Kwantung? (as per AA50)

   Yes, Limits on range of Chinese units still apply.
2. Can China roll for Tech?

   There is no restriction on what China may spend it's money on.

3. Can the axis conduct Strategic Bombing Raids on a Chinese IC?

   No, since the IC has unlimited development.  The Chinese IC is limited by the fact that China has few IPCs to spend.
3. May Chinese inf be placed the same as AA50? (i.e. not just at the IC)

   If China still has it’s IC, new units may only be mobilized in the territory where the Chinese IC resides.  Once the IC is lost, AH original Chinese rules apply.
4. Can the Axis use the captured Chinese IC to build? 
   When the territory where the IC resides is captured, the IC would be destroyed.  
5. What happens when China loses it’s IC but still has Chinese units / territories under Chinese control?

   When China’s IC has been captured and destroyed, China reverts to getting more infantry as described in the AA50 rules.  They no longer collect income in the form of IPCs, nor can they ever get any other unit than inf.

6. China just lost it’s last territory and still has IPCs in her bank.  What happens to the IPCs?

   Any Chinese IPCs go to the conqueror.
Enhanced version of Tech in AA50

Enhanced utilized a 4:2 system of tech in Revised.

4 dice were the minimum number of tech dice you could buy.  

You then rolled to see if you achieved the targeted tech.

If you failed, you had to invest in only 2 more dice the next turn and 

you would be guarenteed of having the targeted tech.

This maintained an element of luck as well as strategy as you could buy 6 dice and guarentee the tech on one turn of you wanted.

How to incorporate in AA50 both the element of luck and the 'strategy' of tech that was achieved in AARe?

Two modifications to the tech system:
Keeping with the '6 dice give you a tech concept':
whenever you have achieved at least 6 researcher rolls (cumulatively), you get a tech.

This could be over 6 rounds if you only invested in 1 researcher.

or could be as short as one round if you purchase 6 researchers in one round.

Another example is to spend $10 on two researchers.  Roll the dice.  

If you fail to get a 6, wait until the next round and roll 2 more dice.

If you again fail, the next round, you will have accumulated 6 researcher rolls, thus guarenteeing a tech development.
Keeping with the 'directed' aspect, thereby allowing more strategy in tech other than a one in six chance (random)

A player can buy off up to two tech outcomes if they so desire.  

Eliminating an unwanted tech costs $3 for each one (up to $6).  You must allocate these dollars as part of your tech development costs, but if you fail to achieve a tech, you do not forfeit this money.  These dollars that were to buy off a tech outcome are then saved until next turn.  You do pay a penalty for 'directed' tech.  The tech you end up achieving is not affective until the end of your turn.

You may opt to not buy off any sides, using the existing AA50 tech rules (we call it risking the super subs) and get an instantaneous tech.

Additional (11/2009)

1) Need to accumulate at least 2 researchers to get a tech... no cheapy $5 tech

2) Whenever a country achieves a tech break thru, they set the cost for others to achieve that same weapon, with some limits:


-  tech cost additional $1 for each turn it took original country to achieve tech


-  tech is delayed- active end of turn (not instant)


-  tech can not be acquired by others for one full round.  
Example:

   Round 2 Japan spends $10 on two researchers.  No break thru (no 6 for two dice)

   Round 3 researchers again fail (no 6 for two dice)

   Round 4 Japan buys two more researchers and get a break thru (at least 1 six for 4 dice)

           Japan rolls chart 2 and gets long range.

   Round 4 USA can NOT 'buy' the LR tech as it has not been a full turn yet

   Round 5 Russia can NOT buy the LR tech as it has not been a full round yet

   Round 5 USA can opt to buy the LR tech for a cost of $23 
($20 + 3 rounds for Japan to achieve)

If USA already had 2 researchers purchased, that $10 expenditure could be used as part of this $23 cost.

APPENDIX

Fighter Escorts and Interceptors

Fighters can participate in strategic bombing raids. Attacking fighters may escort and protect the bombers, and they can originate from any territory, range permitting. Any or all defending fighters based in a territory that is strategically bombed can participate in the defense of the industrial complex. The number of fighters that will defend is decided after the attacker's Combat Movement phase is completed and before the Combat phase begins.

After antiaircraft fire is resolved against the attacking air units, if there are any defending fighters an air battle occurs between the attacking and defending air units. This combat is resolved in the same way as a normal combat, with a few exceptions. The fighters have an attack value of 1 (2 if the attacker has the Jet Power research breakthrough) and a defense value of 2, and the bombers have no attack value. In addition, the combat lasts for only one round. After the battle, any surviving bombers proceed to carry out the raid as normal.

Fighters participating as either an escort or a defender cannot participate in other battles during that turn. Defending interceptors must return to their original territory. If that territory is captured, the fighters may move one space to land in a friendly territory or on a friendly aircraft carrier. This movement occurs after all of the attacker's combats have been resolved and before the attacker's Noncombat Move phase begins. If no such landing space is available, the fighters are lost.

Reference:  http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/article/ah20081212

