Axis & Allies Europe 1940 Preview 4: The Global Rules

| August 5, 2010 | 10 Comments

Axis & Allies Europe 1940 and Pacific 1940 were designed to work together to form one giant global game of Axis & Allies 1940. The rules for this global game are included in the Europe 1940 rulebook. This preview will cover the rules of the global game.


The Map

The following is a picture of the map stitched together from several photos. Click on the image below for a 3 MB version.

Rules Precedence

The global rules are mostly based on the rules from Axis & Allies Europe with a few extra changes just for the global game plus the unique aspectsof Pacific 1940. When following the rules, do it in this order:

  1. Global Rules section in the Axis & Allies Europe 1940 game
  2. Axis & Allies Europe 1940 rules – basic mechanics of the game
  3. Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 rules – for rules that are very specific to that game, like Kamikaze

Victory Conditions

Allies: must control Germany, Southern Italy, and Japan for round of play and also control at least one Allied capital.

Axis: must control 14 victory cities for a complete round of play and also control at least one Axis capital.


Line up your maps from each game, they will fit and it looks great.

Setup the units as listed on all of the setup charts found in both Europe 1940 and Pacific 1940. The following units are added to the setup:

Amur: 6 Soviet Infantry
Sakha: 6 Soviet Infantry
Buryatia: 6 Soviet Infantry
Egypt: 1 ANZAC Infantry

Starting IPCs

Germany: 30
Soviet Union: 37
Japan: 26
United Kingdom Europe: 29
United Kingdom Pacific: 16
Italy: 10
United States: 52
China: 12
France: 19

Order of Play

  1. Germany
  2. Soviet Union
  3. Japan
  4. United Kingdom
  5. ANZAC
  6. Italy
  7. United States
  8. China
  9. France

Special United Kingdom Rules

The UK player must keep the economies of the Europe map separate from those of the Pacific maps

    • Income generated from the Europe map are separate from income generated from the Pacific map

IPCs from Europe income must be spent separate from the Pacific income

  • Units purcahsed with the Europe IPCs may only be deployed on the Europe map. Units purchased with the Pacific IPCs may only be deployed on the Pacific map.
  • Calcutta is the UK capital on the Pacific map. If it is captured, the Axis power will only receive the unspent UK Pacific IPCs.
  • Only the Pacific theatre will cease to generate income when Calcutta is captured by an Axis power.
  • United Kingdom (London) is the UK capital on the Europe map. If it is captured, the Axis power will only receive the unspent UK Europe IPCs.
  • Only the Europe theatre will cease to generate income when United Kingdom (London) is captured by an Axis power.


Map Movement Details

The following is a list of what territories and sea zones are adjacent between the east and west edges of the map.

  • Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba territory is adjacent to both Yukon and British Columbia territories.
  • Central United States is adjacent to Western United States.
  • Southeastern Mexico is adjacent to Mexico.
  • SZ 11 adjacent to SZ 64
  • SZ 28 adjacent to SZ 64
  • SZ 51 adjacent to SZ 64. 65. and 66
  • SZ 52 adjacent to SZ 66
  • SZ 64 adjacent to SZ 11, 28, and 51
  • SZ 65 adjacent to SZ 51
  • SZ 66 adjacent to SZ 51 and 52

The Political Situation

Germany. At war with France, UK, and ANZAC. May declare war on USA, the Soviet Union, or China per the standard rules. Declaring war on one nation does not affect the status with the two.

Soviet Union. Not at war. May not declare war on an Axis power in Europe until turn four unless an Axis power declares war first. May declare war on Japan (the rule book indicates the game setting is before the non-agression pact, which was signed in 1941). When not at war with Japan, may not move units into China.

Japan. At war with China. Movement of Allied forces into China is an act of war against Japan. May declare war on UK, ANZAC, USA, France, or the Soviet Union per the normal rules. Declaration of war against either the UK or ANZAC immediately results in a state of war with both. Being at war with France, the Soviet Union, or USA are all mutually exclusive meaning being at war with one of these does not affect relations with the other two. Japan may only attack Dutch territories if at war with UK and ANZAC.

United Kingdom. At war with Germany and Italy. May declare war on Japan on any turn per the normal rules. Declaring war on Japan results in ANZAC also being at war with Japan. May not move units into China unless at war with Japan. May move land units into Dutch territories at any time during non-combat movement as long as those territories have not been captured by an Axis power. Takes control of a Dutch territory, gaining IPC income, by moving land units into the Dutch territory. Once a Dutch territory has been capture by an Axis power it may be captured an controlled by any other power. Acts of war against a Dutch territory are acts of war against the UK.

ANZAC. Same as UK.

Italy. Same as Germany.

USA. Not at war. While not at war with Japan, may not move units into China. While not at war with Germany or Italy, may not move naval units adjacent to Europe, Africa, UK, or Scotland. If an Axis power declares war on USA, it may declare war on any or all other Axis powers. If Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war (they declare war first) on UK or ANZAC, the USA may declare war on any or all other Axis powers. On turn 3, if not yet at war, the USA may declare war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of the Collect Income phase.

China. At war with Japan. May not go to war with a European Axis power unless a European Axis power declares war on it.

France. At war with Germany and Italy. May declare war on Japan on any turn per the regular rules.

More Rules

When a major industrial complex is captured, immediately downgrade it to a minor industrial complex. Adjust any damage to be no more than 6.

San Francisco is not a capital.

National Objectives & Bonus Income

This will be covered in a future preview.

Category: Axis & Allies Europe 1940, News

About the Author (Author Profile)

David Jensen has been operating Axis and since 2000 and writing about Axis & Allies since 1997.

Comments (10)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Ben says:

    Wow I didn’t realize there some big differences to the Revised Edition.

    Theoretically then, the USA could stay neutral throughout the entire conflict, and just sit back and collect IPCs and build a massive army?

    Also, since there are such flex abilities in the declaration or not of war, then why can’t China, Russia, or the USA declare war on the allied powers if they so choose?

  2. jim says:

    You would not be able to pull that off as the USA. If you sit back and collect money and do nothing the allied powers will lose in both Europe and in the pacific. America is a power that needs to get involved as soon as they are able. If russia declared war on an allied power it would break the game balance. Germany could focus 100% on the UK and crush it without having to divert forces to keep the russians at bay. Russia could also crush china and the pacific uk to quick if it was russia germany italy and japan that would be to broken of a game.

  3. John says:

    Just ordered both pacific and Europe. Can’t wait to play on that huge board it looks awesome. 1914 is a cool game too. If central powers can take France fast the game is over. It stops the uk from being able to land guys in Europe for the most part.

  4. Indiana John says:

    Finally got both 2nd Edition A&A Europe and Pacific. I’ve been waiting for this for years… even when the first editions came out. Pretty cool except that we still cannot get a better choice of color for Italy — Anzac’s color would have been better for Italy. Italy’s and USSR’s colors are too close alike. It seems we’ve always had this trouble since Italy was brought into the game (as it should be). I’ve never understood why this has been overlooked. But otherwise, I love the new board, the new detailed and additional units, and the new rules. (It might have been nice if SOME compartments in the boxes the units came in were included, rather than just an open box to forcing one to scramble and dig to find certain units — I had to buy extra totes — like tackle box trays — to compensate).

  5. Indiana John says:

    As for your reply to Ben, Jim: how does USA get involved unless attacked by Axis. Ben brings up the problem we saw when we played the game (only once so far): It seems USA can do nothing more than build up forces for the first 3 turns otherwise.

  6. Rama says:

    Can you buy units and hold on to them ? Or do I have to deploy if I can ?

  7. Wolfe says:

    If Japan attacks the pacific UK, in an unprovoked attack, than the US can join in and declare war on all the Axis powers.

  8. Victoria says:

    I was pretty mad cause I didn’t know the UK, Anzac rule.. If Japan attacks them then the USA can declare war cause then he got 30 bonus IPCS cause nobody could touch him, it was riciulous.

  9. Bruh says:

    What is the difference between global war 1939 and 1940 global

  10. Maddog says:

    Love this game. We played second edition, and online they have 1941 and 1942 setups for a different starting point in the game. Makes for a fun twist in the game and changes strategy because USA is in the war and they changed the turn order too.

Leave a Reply