For our next preview of Axis & Allies WWI 1914 we will cover the game set up, the political situation, and a few other details.
To view the setup and starting income click to view the Setup Chart for Axis & Allies WWI 1914.
The turn order for the game is as follows:
- Austria/Hungry (Central)
- Russian Empire (Allies)
- Germany (Central)
- France (Allies)
- British Empire (Allies)
- Ottoman Empire (Central)
- Italy (Allies)
- United States (Allies)
The national control markers and units colors for each of the major powers are listed below:
The Political Situation
The political situation starts with the requirement that Austria/Hungary must Serbia, which a minor power allied to the Russian Empire.
In addition to the 8 major powers, the map also contains several minor powers. Minor powers are either neutral or aligned. Minor neutral powers are indicated on the map with green/white color and their own national emblem. Minor aligned powers are also indicated by a their own national emblems but the background color matches the country to which they are aligned. Furthermore, the capital territory of minor aligned powers has both it’s own large national emblem and a smaller national emblem also indicating the major power to which it is aligned.
Mobilizing Minor Powers
None of the minor powers have armies on the board when the game starts. When a major power enters the capital territory of a minor power, then forces are mobilized to join or resist the invasion in that territory. Although it is not explicit, the rules seem to indicate that minor powers with colonies never mobilize units in the colony territories. However, the rules do explicitly state that entering any non-capital territory does not mobilize units.
The number of units mobilized is equal to twice the IPC value of the capital territory. One of those units must be an artillery unit and the rest are infantry. The mobilization occurs after the movement phase and before the conduct combat phase.
When a minor aligned power is mobilized, whether friendly or opposing, their forces are represented and controlled by the indicated aligned power. For instance, when Serbia is mobilized place 3 Russian infantry and 1 Russian artillery in Serbia.
When a minor neutral power is mobilized, the opposing side chooses which country to represent all of the forces of the minor power. For instance, if Germany invades Holland, the Allies may choose Russia, Italy, France, Britain, or the United States to represent the units. If those units survive and the territory is uncontested, that major power will control that territory. Although it is not explicit or implied in the rules, it is our opinion that the United States cannot represent a minor power until it is at war. Expect a clarification on this rule after the game is officially released.
The United States starts the game neutral with Allied sympathies. The United States may not
- Attack sea units of a Central Power
- Move land or air units into Central Power’s territories
- Move land or air units into Central Power contested territories
The United States will enter the war if one of the following occurs:
- Units are attacked by the Central Powers
- Loses income to a German submarine attack
- The start of the 4th turn (unless one of the above happen first)