Capital ships are the 2 hit ships
Battleships and aircraft carriers
Posts made by Uncrustable
Heres my take on minor power rules. These go along with the G39 simplified D6 rules i have posted.
Specifically id like to know what people think on Dutch Holland
Even more specific the text in blue
A minor power begins the game neutral, until activated, with no money. Each minor power may begin collecting IPCs on their first turn. As long as a minor power is neutral it may not attack or move, but may spend any IPCs collected. Once a minor power�s capital falls to the enemy, it is never liberated. Its remaining territories become pro-Allied or pro-Axis friendly respectively. However its forces may continue to move and attack on their respective turns.
Minor Allied powers, once activated, move and attack at the same time as the UK Common Wealth. However incomes and purchases are tracked separate. Any territories captured by minor Allied powers go to UK FEC (Asia/Pacific) or UK (Europe/Atlantic) respectively.
Dutch Holland: Holland is activated when Paris is taken by the Axis or if any Dutch territory is attacked by the Axis. A Japanese attack on the Dutch is considered an act of war against the Common Wealth. The territory of Holland may produce up to 2 units per turn. Once activated, Holland may lend any unspent IPCs, after producing 2 units in Holland, to the UK. These IPCs may be spent on the same turn by the UK. If an Axis power captures Holland on round 2, that Axis power will not capture any Dutch IPCs (they are lost). If an Axis power captures Holland on round 3 or later, that Axis power will receive half of the Dutch IPCs (round up), the rest are lost.
Poland: Poland becomes an active minor Allied power if Warsaw survives Germany�s first turn.
NOTE: The Soviet Union may never activate Polish territories as pro-Allied neutrals. The Soviets are, however, free to attack and capture any Polish territories, including the capital of Warsaw, in which case the Soviets would capture any IPCs Poland has stored.
Minor Axis powers, once activated, move and attack at the same time as Germany. However incomes and purchases are tracked separate. Any territories captured by minor Axis powers go to Germany. Minor Axis powers may produce up to 3 units in their respective capital per turn.
Finland: Activated by German occupation (non-combat) and/or a Soviet attack that fails to take the capital Helsinki. The Soviet Union and the Axis may conduct combat within Finland territories (Helsinki, Torin, Viipuri) without a state of war existing. No attacks into original Soviet territories may come from Finland or Finnish units until Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Finland collects a fixed income of 3 IPCs per turn.
Romania: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Romania or Romanian units until Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Romania collects a fixed income of 6 IPCs per turn.
Bulgaria: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Bulgaria or Bulgarian units until Greece is controlled by the Axis, and Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Bulgaria collects a fixed income of 4 IPCs per turn.
Argentina: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). Argentina collects a fixed income of 3 IPCs per turn. Capital is Viedma.
Siam: Activated by Japanese occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Siam until Japan is at war with the UK Common Wealth. Japan collects all income from Siam and any territories captured by Siam forces.
Regarding the Dutch:
If Germany takes Holland round 1 there is no money to plunder, the DEI become pro Allied neutrals for the sake of the Common Wealth landing units in noncombat and taking the territories. The Dutch forces are activated by the German attack on Holland and may move with the Common Wealth on round 1.
If Germany takes Holland round 2 the Dutch money collected on round 1 is all lost. DEI become pro allied, Dutch forces activated.
If Germany takes Paris but not Holland on round 2, Holland may spend its money it collected on round 1 and move/attack with the Common Wealth as a minor allied power
If Germany takes neither Paris or Holland on round 2, Holland remains neutral but may spend its money (on up to 2 units, saving the rest) and collect again
If Germany takes Holland on round 3 or later Germany receives half of the Dutch IPCs (round up), DEI pro allies, Dutch forces activated
Test game G39 simplified
Not sure if anyone gives a damn…but anyways, playing G39 for the first time with my brother.
Using the simplified rules i wrote up found here:
A few things we added after reading some of the posts here:
1-When you activate the capital of a friendly neutral you activate all lands and ships of that neutral power. (not sure if this is official rules or not anyway, it makes sense)
2-Strict neutral ships become active to the other side when a strict neutral of theirs is attacked adjacent to them or their capital is attacked.
3-Ships do not move twice with the rest of the German units during the second impulse of the blitzkrieg during G1. Again just not sure about this, it seems massively overpowered.
4-German national advantage: Mechanized divisions. Germans receive one free mechanized infantry, placed during place new units, at each major IC it controlled at the start of its turn.
5-USSR national advantage: Conscription. USSR receive one free infantry, placed during place new units, at each IC it controlled at the start of its turn.
6-USSR may never activate Poland if Poland becomes a pro-allied neutral. It may however attack Poland in this state as normal.
7-USSR may attack Poland, Baltic States and/or Finland even if they have been activated by Germany w/out inducing a state of war with Germany.
--7-Germany may not attack any Soviet units/lands without first declaring all out war on Russia. In which case Russia would receive its full production for the remainder of the game.
8-Communist China has no movement restrictions as does Nationalist China.
9-No capital ship placement restrictions for Sydney or Calcutta.
10-ANZAC can build a minor IC in New Zealand.
11-Nationalist China may move into any territories of the Burma Road.
12-Add Soviet minor IC to Stalingrad setup.
Also thinking about adding a naval base to Karelia (SZ 9) setup
And requiring a naval base + IC to place new sea units. Or just this restriction for capital ships.
Any thoughts/comments ?
We are not interested in any special units or other craziness. Its enough of a game to tackle even in this simpler form.
RE: Cheesy allied move
Morning Knp. That rule about loading transports is only relevant to the power who has just DW in its turn. Not other powers in their prior turns. In this scenario, Is now too late for Japan to do it.
If ANZAC dow then Japan is at war with both ANZAC and UK…So the UK destroyer, now makes the sz hostile and prevents Japan from loading in that sz.
I'm not convinced the move is all that good of one, anyway. It lets Japan start picking away at the British and Anzac, whihc keeping the USA tied down and letting Japan collect that +10 NO. A very risky move on the part of ANZAC to do it.
If the move completely denies the DEI and Malaya to Japan for an entire turn it could be well worth it, as UK and ANZAC likely have them this is a rather large income swing. ANZAC 5 IPC objective for Malaya, Japan 5 IPC objective for the DEI. Could come out to around a 18-28 IPC swing. If its round 2 and Japan is denied until round 3, Japan will dow round 3 most likely anyways to get the first shot in before USA enters, and at least deny USA 7 IPCs for the Philippines.
RE: G39 Simplified
Yes the entire game is D6. I may have forgot to mention this lol.
But it is implied, as no where in the OP is there a d12 chart, and it states everything is g40 OOB rules unless otherwise stated…
On rolling 4D6 instead of 2D12 for income this would actually increase balance a bit imo. As rolling a 2 is pretty devastating and a 4 is just a little less so.