2- On the rules I found this one “You do not collect any IPC during setup.” so on the first turn no one can buy right? It seems impossible, we try to play a game in this way but there weren’t anough troops on the board for conduct any combat… probably I don’t get the rule, someone can explain it to me?
3- On the URRS special turn the Russian can collect ipc, buy units, develop weapons and diplomacy or they can only move troops and attcka?
Hi Lelouch I just stumbled across these rules today, and I believe in the first turn only Russia moves, and does not collect any income and builds no units. Then, every successive round all nations collect income at the beginning of their turn* and so every nation also builds units starting from that turn.
this is different from standard A&A where income is collected on the end of each turn. Thus also here, at the setup all nations start with 0 IPCs on their accounts.
I am a big fan of Diplomacy, but can’t imagine adding simultanious movement to A&A. First, as Imperious Leader noted, there would be a large amount of moves to write. In Diplomacy a leader has to write at most 17 orders, but will generally need to issue 5-10. In Axis and Allies both the number and the complexity of the orders increases.
Second, writing down orders will likely serve as somewhat of a deterent to inivation. For example; as Germany I draft a set of orders to strike the U.S.S.R at Causcus and Karelia. If I suddenly see a stronger strategy that involves me completely changing my orders for both countries, the time I already put in that will be lost and the time I will need to write up new orders may deter me from attempting my new course of action. Having to continuously edit a page or two of orders will be tedious.
Third, in real life military leaders would re-act to enemy movements. If as Japan I ordered my units in Kwangtung, Manchuria, and French Indochina to attack China, but was attacked by units in Soviet Far East and India my attack would not proceed. Not only that, the Manchurian units would likely be diverted to re-inforce and/or counter-attack.
“its income cannot be spent in other territories.
That income and only that income can be spent in its IC or VC during purchase units phase this turn.
That income is forfeited if not spent this turn.”
“The blockaded territory’s income can only be spent in its own VC or IC. Income from other territories may not be spent in the blockaded territory’s VC or IC.
If the blockade territory’s income is not spent this turn it is forfeited.”