Nice to see people are using the admiral version of SCW and some of you get the choices that were made. If you have any questions feel free to ask.
And yes, Army of Africa were used as shocktroops. 3/3 vs 2/4 is still similar total value of stats but for a smaller unit size. The air transport can not be sunk. And lend lease an airborne with the Axis and Republicans need to take care of not being surrounded by leaving too many spaces empty. I would appreciate playtesting results. Designers can miss things in initial game testing. I am only human after all, don’t put the blame on me 😉
@trig This is why we have adapted the BBR VP conditions and made other changes. Attacking a neutral in Europe by the Axis only results in one dice before 1939. We found the penalties for attacking Neutrals limits the Axis and causes the same scenario over and over again. Anyway…trying to adapt for 2-player as best we can.
@sjelso Denmark is something I also wouldn’t take till later, but the Netherlands can be a pain very quickly after Japan attacks. Norway may be risky by sea, but only 2 airborne are needed if given long range air support. If done during lightning war, Norway can be rather easily and quickly conquered.
@noneshallpass You are correct. A Strategic Bomber has no ability to attack a ship in any way, shape, or form in the game so it is obviously impossible to use them on MAP. MAP is a combat move and you can’t make a combat move if you have no ability to conduct combat.
Thanks for asking the question. We have added it to the FAQ.
If the Axis control and block Gibraltar does that cut off the 6 IPC from the Mediterranean convoy line?
Are you using optional rule 15.2? 15.2 Suez Re-Route
If Eastern Egypt or Gibraltar is Enemy-possessed, the British IPP in the Meiterranean cannot be the subject of Convoy Raiding. Instead, reassign the British IPP by adding 3 IPPs to the East African Line and 3 IPPs to the West African Line.
If you are not using optional rule 15.2, the 6 IPPs are not “cut-off”, but can easily be raided every turn.
@hbg-gw-enthusiast The fortifications are more that just a solid wall. Any unit no matter how it attacks is subject to the fort rules if it crosses that border. In the case of Malaya, that includes all borders as you rightly pointed out.
@hbg-gw-enthusiast I think it should be errata’d the subject of what counts as “An aircraft on Carriers.” Imo they should say that aircraft are only “on carriers” all the time save combat movement and combat. It would solve a couple other questionable areas as well.
then during non-combat I can treat that sea zone as empty? Could I move beyond the submarine then to another further sea zone? If my CV is two away from the submarine, the destroyers enter during combat movement, the submarine submerges, then I could move t
As per 0.5, When a submarine submerges, they are allowed to share sea zones with other vessesls. Thus submarines can not participate in combat until the next players combat phase. This means that you can non combat into zones with submerged submarines since combat can not occur.
@caesar-seriona Actually, it works well. Japan gets CCP until the Chinese Civil War ends or they declare war on China. Creates a real war. The CCP is trying to kill as many troops on either side. The Nationalists are trying to preserve as many. We play the long-game but I understand why Japan may leave China alone (same in G40).