the pacific rulebook says that. but in the errata it is unclear. it says how and when kamikazes can attack, but it also shows the conditions for when transports can be taken as casualties. It states in a battle the transport is consider in combat, but can only be taken as a casualty last because the other sips are their to protect it, and also so it cannot be used as cannonfodder.
it says kamikazis can attack any ship that is in combat can be chosen, so I am wondering since its a kamikazi attack instead of a sea battle if the tranny can be picked. Since really your suiciding into a chosen target, so its irrelavant that the other naval ship are their to defend it.
So I’m not sure whether to take the OOB ruling on that, or since its part of combat in the zone, it can be chosen.
“Transports are a part of a sea combat, just like other sea units.They are participants in combat, not bystanders.A combat involving transports plays out like any other combat, with three exceptions. The first exception is that transports don’t roll combat dice.As a result, they will never hit anything. They must rely on combat units for protection. The second exception is that transports may only be taken as casualties when there is no other
choice.In other words, they can’t be used as “cannon fodder”.Combat units protect transports, not
the other way around.”
“alt 7: Correct. However, if this were a combat move, kamikaze attacks would be allowed against any US ship in the sea zone, not just the ones that moved in.”
any US ship in the sea zone, only oob says they can’t attack TT’s. So its weird.