Russian tanks are great if Germany decides to swing down towards the Middle East instead of a straight march to Moscow. They are not going prevent the stackwalk any better than artillery except perhaps if the calculations show that the extra firepower will slow down a critical step like Rostov or Belarus. Hence it could be good to build the tanks on turns 3 or 4, depending on the German DoW. No need for them on Round 1.
I use Factory Limited from the Redesign Thread. I find them to work well.
“FactoryLimited” Air and Naval Bases now cost 12. All captured and newly constructed Minor Factories may only produce Artillery, AAguns, Armor, Mech Infantry, Mobile Infantry, Marines, Elite and Infantry. If a NB is present you may also build Subs, Transports, Escort Carriers and Destroyers. If an AB is present you may also build Fighters and Tac Bombers.
ABs are required to build Fighters, Tac Bombers, Bombers and Air Transports. Bombers and Air Transports may only be built in Factories on originally owned Territories that also have an AB. In addition, Bombers and Air Transports may not be built in the following territories: Kwangtung, Egypt, Norway, Alaska, West India and Korea. May not build at an AB with 3 or more damage.
NBs are required to build all Naval Units. BBs, CVs and CAs may only be built in Territories with originally owned starting Factories. These Territories must also have a NB (Need not be original NB). May not build at a NB with 3 or more damage.
So similar to what you’ve suggested. Basically the Big Guns can only be built in original major factories.
@squirecam Considering an American transport train can hit any of Rio de Oro, Gibraltar, Normandy, the Low Countries, Denmark, and Norway in one turn, that’s 7 fighters/bombers peeled off to sit those territories.
That strategy would have required Japan to commit multiple planes to sitting on the Atlantic wall, not pressing Russia and not available to defend against a British surprise attack in Asia.
Yes it has risks and benefits. However, it’s kinda moot as the rule doesnt work that way.