Hello I have some questions regarding the combat phase of this game. The rule book states that any excess hits beyond those necessary to eliminate defending units are assigned to zombies. Okay that’s simple. But then the rules say that each roll of the special symbol will hit a zombie and each zombie unit that is hit is removed from the battle board. So does this mean a special symbol is an instant kill before the remove casualties step? Then the rule books says in step 7 to remove all casualties including zombies. Well it’s sort of a contradiction to the insta kill symbol. Here is an example of combat we had.
Attacker has 2 infantry and 2 tanks. Defender has 2 infantry and 1 zombie is present. Attackers get 4 hits and defenders and zombies get none. At what point are zombies taken as casualties? What according to this example would the outcome be? Any clarification would help.