Well, its more an agregate of knowledge from all of the various questions asked and answered. Here’s some official tidbits that relate.
Stacking While Moving: The stacking limit applies only at the end of each player’s half of the movement and assault phase, after all movement and unit placement are finished. Moving units can temporarily exceed the stacking limit during the phase, provided each hex is within the limit at the end of the player’s portion of the phase. If a hex exceeds the stacking limit at the end of a phase, units must be moved back to their previously-occupied hex until the overstack is corrected. These moves are done in reverse order – that is, the last unit in must be the first one backed out, and so on.
There is only one legal retreat hex for any given overstacked unit – the one that it came from when it entered the now-overstacked hex. The last unit in the overstacked hex must back up to its previous hex.
If that causes another overstack, then it sets off a daisy chain of unstacking. The last unit in is the first one out.
Yes, you used to be able to bump an isolated infantry every now and then, but it was easy to fugure out.
If you wait until the end of the turn it will a nightmare to manage.
As you said, you move 2 Inf into a hax that already conatins two inf. The two original Inf now try charge forward in an MG and get disrupted so they cannot move. But its the end of the turn and you’ve moved a dozen units. Now what, you have to “unmove” the first two Inf that you moved to fix the overstack, hoping you remember which hexes they came from?
It gets insanely worse with vehicles.
No, that will break the game. They’ve done some odd things in the past, but this will break the game.
I have to beileve that the rule will be different than we are guessing. Something like, any unit that is overstacked cannot Attack. So you can overstack all you want, but if you dont resolve it by the end of the turn then that unit is pretty much a hood ornament. Or something equally different.
Thanks for the heads up, we’ll all have to keep our eyes peeled.
Commander Pnzr 45 pnts
Vet Tiger 65 pnts
Ammo Depot 10 pnts
Mauser 3 pnts
Fortress Defendr 2 pnts
While attacking a disrupted unit w/Vet Tiger, all dice would count, “one’s” get reroled and you have another approx 85% success of hitting. All total it’s over 90% success ratio. Almost always a hit and Vet Tiger throws alot of dice.
Replace Vet Tiger with 3X elite pnzr and it’s another killer army. You can add 11 pnts more of infantry… another 3X mauser + another Fortress Defendr
I agree, when I saw his build I thought I might be ok as long as I didn’t get the Urban map. and then that crazy first shot he made! Usualy several shots bounce off the E8 before it’s dammaged. I was only able to take two Pzr IVs with me. 😞
Now it’s down to a couple M1 Garands and a sniper…
I haven’t followed all the re-direction of AAM marketing, shake-ups, transition of staff at Wizards, but it seems to me AAM has been relegated to the category of “out of print” and to be played only by an underground cult of die-hard fans. The only place I can seem to get an AAM game in is on this forum via PBEM.
Maybe the release of the Northa Africa sets will sell well enough to make Wizards reconsider resurrecting the Combat Zone program.
here is a rules questionm
I just played a few games with gamer, and these situations came up a few times.
When does the movement occur during the assault phase?
At one point does a unit need to be able to spot for a mortar?
Heres a situation. I have the initiative. If I move a soldier during the movement phase into LOS within 4 hexes of a unit (spotting for my mortar). During the assault phase (I go first with initiative) I attack that enemy unit with my mortar (spotting with my soldier). My soldier doesnt shoot, and instead moves during assault phase, out of LOS, and thus can not be retaliated against. Is this legal?
An inverse situation is this. I DONT have the initiative and go second. My opponent has already done his attacks. During my ASSAULT phase, I move my soldier into LOS and within 4 hexes of an enemy. Can I then use that spot for my mortar?
Basically, when and for how long does the spot have to occur?
1. You resolve move/attacks for one unit at a time.
2&3. I assume you are refreing to the mortar w/ the “Improved Indirect Fire” so any unit can spot? The special ability (having another unit within 4 hexes) must be satisfied when the Mortar’s assualt is resolved. It doesn’t matter if the soldier moved before or after that.