Welcome, General A-Ron!
Wheatbeer is correct. Since Kamikaze strikes occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, any attacking air units are already in the air.
On the subject of convoy disruption, here’s a quote from the 2nd edition Rulebook:
There are three conditions that must exist for this kind of attack to occur:
1. The sea zone must have a â€œConvoyâ€ image,
2. The sea zone must be adjacent to one or more of your controlled territories, and
3. At least 1 warship belonging to a power with which you are at war must be in the sea zone. (Any ships in the sea zone that belong to you or a friendly power will have no effect on convoy disruption.)
Convoy attacks on â€œConvoyâ€ sea zones are conducted in the following manner.
Each enemy warship (except for aircraft carriers) and carrier-based air unit in the sea zone might cause the loss of 1 or more IPCs from your income for the turn. The owners of enemy battleships, cruisers, and/or destroyers rolls one die for each such unit, and the owners of enemy submarines and/or air units roll two dice for each such unit. Any rolls of â€œ4â€ or higher are ignored. The results of these rolls that are â€œ3â€ or less are totaled, and the resulting number is the total convoy damage suffered in the disruption. However, this number might be limited. Each disrupted convoy canâ€™t lose more IPCs than the total IPC value of your controlled territories adjacent to the sea zone. Also, no single territory can lose more IPCs than its own IPC value from multiple disrupted adjacent convoys (for example, Japan cannot lose more than 8 IPCs from disrupted convoys in sea zones 6 and 19). After these limits are applied, the final total is subtracted from your income for the turn.