Although I would like an official moderator to advise on the issue as they might not take the answer from someone who is not a moderator.
Posts made by eddiem4145
RE: Carriers attacking
There are other versions where the aircraft carrier has an attack value of 0 and a damaged carrier can’t be landed on.
Making sending in a carrier to attack useless. So I think they got used to playing that version and assumed a carrier cannot attack. Although even in those versions if you know you are going to loose your planes or there is an island you can land on, you can still send in the carrier as cannon fodder, but they played that version as though you can’t send in a carrier.
They looked up the rules and tried to argue that in certain places of the rule book, in was implicit that you can’t send a carrier to attack. It was a pretty weird conversation but nevertheless, I agreed to post the question.
Naval Units avoiding battle
When I enter a sea zone with my capital warships, and the sea zone is occupied by other enemy capital warships, do I have to conduct one round of battle, or
can I just stop my movement, then if on the enemy’s turn they do not attack me, on my turn again I get to keep moving, essentially, the enemy does not stop my movement, they only slow me down.
Two Moscow adjacent territories are under CP control. One Moscow adjacent territory in contested. Another territory not adjacent to Moscow is contested. Moscow is contested and about to fall removing the Russian Revolution option. If the Moscow adjacent territory goes under CP control, the Russian Revolution happens saving Moscow.
On Moscow’s turn, knowing it can’t hold Moscow, simply withdraws his troops from the one Moscow adjacent territory that is contested back to Moscow.
The question, the instant it withdrawals its troops back to Moscow that was contested, does that territory immediately goes under CP full control, thus fulfilling the Russian Revolution condition at the end of the Russian turn, saving Moscow.
The argument against this is: The minute Russian troops pull out, the CP power in that territory can’t place his marker and gain its income until that CP powers next turn, thus allowing them to attack Moscow the next turn, taking Moscow and avoiding the Russian Revolution.
RE: Bidding for OOB
The one thing that can change to give balance and a major oversight by the creators are the submarine rules. Even before the Germans began unrestricted submarine warfare, they did major damage to the British. After they began unrestricted warfare, they did even more damage before the with US assistance, they removed the threat.
The submarine rules are way to weak for the Germans. Submarine damage should be automatic, no rolling. It should be $1 damage per sub to start, $2 once they begin unrestricted submarine warfare.
This can easily be thwarted a turn or two after the US comes into the war and before that, the Germans can’t put to much into submarine warfare due to the demands on the eastern front. But it will slow down the US and British.
Fighters attacking naval units.
Can a fighter fly one space, attack with ground troops, then fly back to where it came from?
Can a fighter fly one space over a sea zone, attack warships, then fly back to where it came from?
Important as Austria is about to send its navy and a fighter from the Balkans against the Italian navy in my current game.
RE: Invading colonies or countries with colonies
OK so I saw it say that if I take the capital, the colonies of that capital don’t go to me. That makes sense.
But it doesn’t say what happens if I take a colony. Wouldn’t take a nations colony by force be tantamount to a declaration of war.