I understand all that. The question still remains….
Is it after the round of combat the carrier is destroyed? Or after the combat round?
Here is our scenario that happened yesterday that we would like some clarification on….
One Carrier with 1 plane attacks. The attacker also flies in another air craft to join the battle knowing it is going to land on the carrier at the end of the battle.
The attacker chooses to kill off his carrier instead of taking the losses on the planes.
We know he can do this but want to know when the planes are taken as casualties? Is it after the round the carrier is destroyed, or at the end of the combat and the planes can continue? Or does he have to take the carrier as a last casualty?
IF Japan can get to Gibraltor and land there, doesn’t that AUTOMATICALLY bring US into the War? If I remember correctly, Japan cannot attack (or land) on any UK territory without bringing the US into the war. If Japan does land on Gibraltor and bring the US into the War, the US factories AUTOMATICALLY AND IMMEDIATELY get made into Major Factories. Even if they only have 52 IPC, That is plenty to hold off any invasion on Japan Turn 4.
Also, on a side note, if I saw this as the UK player, I would put at least one ship in the way somehow. Even if it’s to make you not be able to reach Washington.
I like the idea, but the Allies would have to be idiots to let this happen.
Aren’t the first 3 turns only 156 IPC’s? 52x3=156. Or are you talking in general 3 turns worth throughout the game?
Anyways, you can never just concentrate on one theater for 3 straight turns unless you plan on losing. You have to give some to Europe side of the board.
SBR is really an Allies Tactic. Not so useful for the Germans. The Germans bombed the UK (Battle of Britain) but everything I see and read on it was they bombed the cities (political purposes) or the hit the wrong airfields, hit shipping ports and bombed shipping targets.
Only the UK and US really used SBR to it’s fullest. They went right to the heart of German production. Killing it’s ability to produce anything.
Strategic bombing is a necessary tactic for the allies. The US has to build Bombers as well as the UK. Make the Germans pay. They can’t protect the complexes and use the fighters in the East at the same time. Something will have to give. This is something that pay off in the long run. It’s not as noticeable on one turn but over the course of the game.
We play a variant of the Anniversary Edition rules…
1 - You buy a token. If you don’t hit, you can role it until you do.
2 - When you do hit, You pick which chart you want to use.
3 - If you do NOT like what was rolled, you may pass until the next turn and role the choice again. However, you HAVE to take it this time.
Better chances of getting something useful.
I know the Soviets and Japs have their own rules as far as War goes. But I have the following questions to make sure.
1 - Japan or USSR attakcs. They get 12 IPC immediately or at the collect income phase of their next turn?
2 - If Japan attacks USSR, does it bring the US or UK into the War on the Pacific side?
3 - If No with the US, does Japan still collect their 10 ipc’s for not being at War?