Posts made by ColonelCarter
RE: Two rules questions
When submarines attack and there is no defending destroyer, any defending submarines (along with other warship casualties) chosen as casualties are immediately removed from the battle with no chance to roll a defence roll, yes? I know that surviving defending subs roll before the rest of the attacker’s ships roll, but just wanted to be clear that defending sub casualties on a sneak attack do not get to roll back before removal.
It depends. If the attacker has no destroyers in the attack, then the defending subs also get a sneak attack–they will roll dice even if they die to attacking subs, because they are in the same “priority phase” as each other, just like normal ships get to fire back when normal ships kill them. If you do have a destroyer in the attack, then it nullifies the defending subs’ sneak attack ability–they will roll dice with the rest of the defending “normal” ships, and if they die to attacking sub sneak attack, be removed before firing.
My second question is, for Europe 1940 2nd Ed, if no Axis power declares war on it, the USA is still considered neutral for all of turn 3 up until the last phase of its turn, yes? So the US has limited neutral unit movement until turn 4, even though it can begin collecting National Objective income at the conclusion of its 3rd turn?
Correct. The US can (I don’t think they technically have to) declare war right before its Collect Income phase of Round 3 if it hasn’t been attacked yet. If it doesn’t (no reason not to though), I think they can only do it during the normal time at the start of their turns.
RE: Russian Revolution question
Just thought I’d comment on a few things in this thread…
Errata/FAQ for reference.
Thus, if they (Russians) remain in control of the TT and the CPs can’t take the neutral TT before the RR, that TT is now completely off-limits.
This isn’t the case. The Errata/FAQ says that “Russia immediately relinquishes control of” “non-original territories that Russia controls when the armistice occurs” (Page 2, heading “The Russian Revolution”)
NOTE: The Allies can never occupy Russian TT, only liberate (I think).
This also isn’t the case. Any Russian territory controlled by the CPs at the time of the Revolution “remain ~~under Central Powers control, but [is] considered to have no original controller for the remainder of the game.” (Page 2, heading “The Russian Revolution”)
Austria-Hungary’s Turn: Germany controls Karelia, Livonia, and Belarus, and Austria-Hungary controls Ukraine. Britain has 2 inf in Sevastopol. AH conquers Tatarstan and contests Moscow, leaving no troops in Ukraine and Romania.
Russia’s Turn: Revolution happens. Moscow becomes a shared territory between Russia & the CP. Russia removes all but 1 inf from Moscow to reflect this status.
Britain’s Turn: Their two inf in Sevastopol must leave this turn or be deported to Siberia (removed from the game). Britain chooses to conquer Ukraine and Romania each with 1 inf, collecting an extra 6 IPCs.
Another thing to note is the the CPs don’t have to move out of territories they share with Russia, they just have to leave at least one inf when doing so. (So make sure you keep two inf when contesting Moscow or have one in an adjacent territory to allow the artillery to move out!) They are also permitted to move back in if they want.
Can they liberate Moscow? If they do what happens? Simply British get 6 ipc’s or can Russia get back into the war?
If the CPs outright captured Moscow (no Revolution), the Allies can liberate Moscow. Russia never stopped being an Allied power in this case, so they should be no different from Paris or Rome being captured and liberated to get the respective power back in the war. If there was a Revolution, Moscow is either controlled by Russia or shared by Russia & the CPs, so no Allies could move into it to “liberate” it.~~
RE: Reasons why you shouldn't kill France first
Taking Moscow takes multiple extra turns and ends up costing many more troops than forcing a Revolution though. Those are extra turns where you are spending more IPCs against Russia than the West, so the extra IPCs from Moscow end up being nullified in the increased momentum France/Italy have.
Also how do you deal with British troops entering through Sevastopol? Once the British have forced the Ottomans out of Ankara, they don’t have to keep advancing on Constantinople.
RE: Reasons why you shouldn't kill France first
I’ve come to basically the same conclusion. Your reasoning is also why I believe that to have a chance at victory, the CPs must force the Russian Revolution without taking Sevastopol, because if you do, the British are easily able to attack through there and you end up with the same conundrum of having to spend your increased income solely on defending that very same money.
RE: Central Powers Navy?
Since you’re going after Russia first, Britain has no need to try to get troops into Europe, resulting in completely wasted CP IPCs on navy until Britain finally decides to spend in Europe after having beaten the Ottomans into submission.
Also, I don’t know how you’re actually beating Russia in a reasonable timeframe while sending like 20+ units at Italy. Maybe you get a late (turn 7+) Revolution? If that’s not in play, you shouldn’t ever be able to take Moscow with so few resources dedicated.
RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
Just no Axis warships present. A German (or Japanese, even though that’s impractical) sub will prevent the NO even if that power is not at war with Russia. An Italian one would prevent it too if Russia was at war with Germany but not Italy for some reason.
RE: Who is more difficult to contain?
This was kind of a tough choice; I went with Germany for my vote. Both will become monsters if you focus the other, but I feel Germany has the upper hand when unfocused.
If they manage to get their hands on Moscow (presumed to happen if they aren’t focused by the WAllies), they will have a tremendous income and can push south through to Egypt, an overland (and thus cheaper) route while Egypt is pretty far away from Allied reinforcement (6 ground if it has a minor + planes from Britain and units multiple turns away from the US, if they have safe places for transports away from the Luftwaffe).
Japan will have a huge income as well if the Allies spend more against Germany first, but for them to get the Pacific win, they have to take some territory over sea (which can be blocked in the absence of German bombers). Not only that, but I feel the WAllies get more income from containing Germany (Norway, Finland, Normandy, SFrance maybe, NAfrica sooner [though maybe it stays in French hands which is bad]) as opposed to money in the Pac (DEIs worth quite a bit, but ANZAC will likely have to take some to get them out of Japanese hands and they can’t effectively use the money, Philippines [pretty late to get this because of the threat Japan can project from it])
Simple version: Since it’s harder to “pressure” Japan it ends up being harder to “contain” Germany and since it’s easier to “pressure” Germany it’s easier to “contain” Japan.
RE: Do you take Southern France as Germany or Italy?
Italy for a couple of reasons:
G1 stretches France attack/pulls troops away from Russia. (for a G2, my preferred DoW round)
G2 delays collecting the IPCs for a round/delays remaining French task force another round.
Italian slow units don’t have much better places to go.
I haven’t experimented with German Med naval strats at all, so I could be missing something, but it’s worked out fine for me.
RE: Movement Question Regarding Tournament Rules
That does not preclude a player from moving from a friendly territory, into a second friendly territory, and then into a hostile territory two spaces away does it?
That is exactly what the rules prevent. You must use your full movement to enter a hostile territory (one that contains no friendly units); think of this in the same way that you can’t move ground units before loading onto a transport.
You can move units multiple spaces into a contested territory though, and they would participate in an attack in said contested territory if you made one.