We recently purchased this product and our playing through the game for the 3rd time this afternoon. Naturally, many questions have come up, but only the following question remains unanswered.
A fighter and tactical bomber are flying off the deck of a carrier to engage in sea combat in the sea zone bordering Japan, with the assumption that the same aircraft carrier is going to travel to the same sea zone to pick them up. Two other fighters and two other tactical bombers are flying in from a different zone to participate in conjunction with an amphibious assault on Japan. The four additional aircraft do not have the remaining move to reach any friendly territory, except for the currently full carrier. The question is, since the rules simply state under Aircraft Movement that the movement only requires for the possibility of a aircraft carrier to be in the zone to pick up the wandering aircraft, whether or not it has the room for it. The assumption made in the game was that most of the aircraft were going to obliterated anyway and that landing would not be an issue, but it does not feel to be within the spirit of the game.
Immediate help would be great since we will be playing again in about two hours.
Thanks in advance.