Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Adalwolf
    3. Best
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 2
    • Topics 44
    • Posts 141
    • Best 24
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Best posts made by Adalwolf

    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAT and other ships:

      U-Boat in SZ21. UK, on its turn, combat moves Lt CV with fighter and a light cruiser to SZ21. UK can attack the U-Boat immediately as CV with a plane always has MAT. The light cruiser can also attack, but the U-Boat gets 1st strike because the UK does not have a Destroyer.

      I believe this is also incorrect. Carriers cannot move before your plane goes on MAP. The reason is this movement by planes is a form of combat movement. Your carrier is not moving into combat movement. When you refer to the plane on the carrier as always having MAP, that is correct, if a sub tries to go through the SZ.

      The light cruiser cannot attack if the plane is on MAP and the sub is in that SZ. Only a destroyer paired with the plane can attack.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAT and other ships:

      U-Boat in SZ21, alone. German turn, U-Boat rolls a 6, UK rolls a 3. UK loses 3 IPCs immediately. I believe this is wrong. The Sub has a +2 modifier, therefore UK would lose 5 up to the max. that the convoy line is worth.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast That is correct, and the question becomes when does the sub submerge.

      The choice to submerge can happen after the attacker has rolled his dice and the casualties seen, but before the sub gets his defensive die roll.

      So if there are no hits from the attacker, the sub will submerge without a die roll. If there are hits, then the sub will get his one die roll.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Landing Allied Planes in Russian Territory

      @vondox There are some strategies out there that allow for France and UK to declare war first on Germany, therefore allowing allied units to be sent to France before Germany attacks. France most likely will not hold out one turn once Germany attacks pre declaration of war by the allies and if France does hold out, Germany is in trouble.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Biggest customized map

      @tchenao I have HBG Global 36 game on a 5x10 map. All my ships are 1/2400 scale and the fit nicely on the map.

      posted in Customizations
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAT and other ships:

      U-Boat alone in SZ79. The U-Boat can roll a 1D6 (+2 DRM for Sub), 3 times, one time against the UK 3 line from S. Africa, one time against the UK Mediterranean line of 6 and one time against the UK 6 line running along the coast of Portugal? SZ79 is the intersection of 3 convoy lines totaling 15 IPCs available for convoy raiding

      Sub here rolls one time with modifier. The advantage you have with multiple convoy lines is that you can raid up to the value of all lines combined. So if you had 3 subs in SZ 79, then you could roll 3 times for the possibility of 15 IPPs.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso the plane, assuming fighter here has a MAP range of 1. Seaplanes have 2. In order to conduct MAP, you need to have a landing spot, from which the plane came from, I.e. land zone, or carrier. If your plane stays on MAP, and your Carrier moves away, meaning more than one space, the plane is automatically eliminated.

      So to attack a sub that does not want to fight, you need a plane on MAP, and/or a plane on MAP and a destroyer.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso @manincellv Got it, 1x per sub + 2 Mod so one sub max possible = 7 (6+2-1) as the UK lowest roll is = 1.

      Correct . Subs and convoy raiding is an important part of GW36. If done correctly, Germany can spread out the UK fleet and wreck havoc on their economy early on in the war. Later, once, escort ships go out, then radar and ASW, raiding is over for Germany unless it has evolved it subs to advanced subs. Same goes for the UK if Germany has advanced subs and the Uk does not have radar or ASW.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAT and other ships:

      @manincellv Ok…so the carrier could sit in SZ22 or with the U-Boat in SZ21 and the plane would fly MAP safely and attack the sub with a place to land on the carrier 1 or fewer SZ away.

      Correct.

      The U-Boat could Combat Move on it’s turn to SZ21 and attack the carrier, the carrier can defend/roll at a Lt CV defense hit @ 1.

      Correct, and the fighter would gets its defense roll of 6. Here is a good point. If the sub hits on a first strike, the carrier cannot fire back and sinks. I assume the fighter still can and if it misses, the sub submerges, and the fighter is eliminated.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAT and other ships:

      @manincellv I wish there was a Playbook that provided more examples. The rules do not do this justice and like I said, 16 games in and we pretty much bypassed Convoy Raiding…just didn’t seem important and too easy to kill subs. Thank you for your input!

      It’s hard to kill them. You need a plane on MAP, which are limited to 1 SZ, unless a seaplane, and/or a DD. Now once UK develops ASW, then you automatically get to roll in that one SZ you on escort duty for a possible hit on the Sub.

      For subs to stay alive, just avoid SZ that planes can reach on MAP.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso one other thing. A sub before it submerges, gets to roll a die to see if it got a hit. Foe example, a plane on MAP and a DD attack the sub. Both miss and the sub rolls a hit. The DD is sunk and then the sub submerges.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships:

      @manincellv Ok…I thought the sub forfeits its roll in order to dive/submerge and get away.

      No. They get one roll.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @sjelso said in Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships:

      @manincellv Ok…I thought the sub forfeits its roll in order to dive/submerge and get away.

      Yes, sorry he does forfeit his roll.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Forts/Bases - Declare location when beginning construction?

      @sjelso Yes, see page 26 under Facilities.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Maritime Air Patrol (MAP) Range

      There’s a nice chart I believe on the FAQ now.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • USSR D12 roll

      If I interpret the rules right the U.S.S.R will get a D12 roll as soon as Germany annexes Romania which can be done after the Fall of France. Correct?

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Does the Global War 1936-1945 board game (third edition) actually exist? How can I buy one?

      @noneshallpass With the 5x10 you can up the scale of the ships!

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: USSR Victory Objectives "scoring" protocol

      @chris_henry

      Not knowing how the designers would answer this, I would play it like this.
      The Buffer Zone VP is part of 1 VP, and you either have them or don’t. If you only have half of the territories then you don’t meet the conditions of the VP. You can’t say I use those territories as part of another VP because the rules state you can’t in Worldwide Communism “is not scored as part of another victory condition.” That’s how I see it.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • RE: Planes must end their movement at an airfield

      @gen-manstein Added in some scramble rules for damaged air bases. What you said makes sense. Thanks for the suggestion.

      posted in Global War 1936
      AdalwolfA
      Adalwolf
    • 1
    • 2
    • 1 / 2