Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

2011 League Rules AA50


  • 2007 AAR League

    Ah, nope, no irony intended I don’t think.  :?


  • 2007 AAR League

    good then. u dont deserve ˝get ironised˝ .


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    How are “Heavy Bombers” treated in the 2010 league?

    According to the rulebook: Add the results of the two dice.

    or

    According to the new Faq: Choose the best result of the two dice
    (see http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=16872.msg563184#msg563184 )

    Or will there be a rule such as: Ongoing games with tech = “old rule”
    games starting today or later = “New rule”.

    ?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @P@nther:

    How are “Heavy Bombers” treated in the 2010 league?

    According to the rulebook: Add the results of the two dice.

    or

    According to the new Faq: Choose the best result of the two dice
    (see http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=16872.msg563184#msg563184 )

    Or will there be a rule such as: Ongoing games with tech = “old rule”
    games starting today or later = “New rule”.

    ?

    I could ask the same question as above referring to the rule change concerning bombers with paratroopers that have to stop in the territory a tank has just blitzed through now (the bomber was allowed to proceed according to the old FAQ).


  • '10

    Page 19, Step 5. Press Attack or Retreat – Condition B–Attacker Retreats: The second sentence should read: “Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat on the battle board to a single adjacent friendly space from which at least one attacking land or sea unit moved.”

    Does this mean one can retreat from an amphib even if some offloaded units are left ?  Also can  units retreat to transports assuming the proper amount of spaces to hold them ?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Battlingmaxo:

    Page 19, Step 5. Press Attack or Retreat – Condition B–Attacker Retreats: The second sentence should read: “Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat on the battle board to a single adjacent friendly space from which at least one attacking land or sea unit moved.”

    Does this mean one can retreat from an amphib even if some offloaded units are left ?  Also can  units retreat to transports assuming the proper amount of spaces to hold them ?

    I don’t think so, because the general Amphibous Assault-rules were not changed.
    The only difference in this FAQ-change is the exchange of the word “units” from the rulebook with the words “land or sea unit”. I think the new wording is just a clarification that air units do not retreat the way the other units do.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @P@nther:

    @Battlingmaxo:

    Page 19, Step 5. Press Attack or Retreat – Condition B–Attacker Retreats: The second sentence should read: “Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat on the battle board to a single adjacent friendly space from which at least one attacking land or sea unit moved.”

    Does this mean one can retreat from an amphib even if some offloaded units are left ?  Also can  units retreat to transports assuming the proper amount of spaces to hold them ?

    I don’t think so, because the general Amphibous Assault-rules were not changed.
    The only difference in this FAQ-change is the exchange of the word “units” from the rulebook with the words “land or sea unit”. I think the new wording is just a clarification that air units do not retreat the way the other units do.

    … and that land or sea units cannot retreat to a territory an air unit came from (if not accompanied by a land or sea unit from the same territory the air unit came from).


  • '10

    Yes, I think I took it out of context.



  • i am trying to find the answer to a rules question

    I have read the FAQ and can’t find the answer

    for the russian NO it says ARC + no allied units in USSR

    if you take finland and land british planes do you then lose the NO


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13

    @chunksoul:

    i am trying to find the answer to a rules question
    I have read the FAQ and can’t find the answer
    for the russian NO it says ARC + no allied units in USSR
    if you take finland and land british planes do you then lose the NO

    If Russia takes Finland and the brits land a plane in finland then Russia loses the NO bonus.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?board=62.0

    For rule questions please go the anniversary thread, find Kreighund, send him a pm or just start a thread asking the question and he will answer it. He is the authority on the OOB rules.

    For any bid related questions one of us mods can give you an answer.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @JWW:

    For rule questions please go the anniversary thread, find Kreighund, send him a pm or just start a thread asking the question and he will answer it. He is the authority on the OOB rules.

    For any bid related questions one of us mods can give you an answer.

    Sure… but what about the impact of the two rule changes that were introduced with the new AA50-FAQ on the league games?


  • Moderator

    Editted to remove confusion.



  • No, last year we used FAQ rules for tech.  (Limitations to improved factories was an FAQ, actually the Paratrooper/blitz rule was in the FAQ as well).

    It seems the appropriate thing to do would be have any open tech game finish using the rules they started under unless both players agree to switch (even if neither side has the tech, purchases may have been geared towards taking advantage of one or the other).  But any new games should probably start under the new FAQ rules.  But it’s not my call.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @DarthMaximus:

    As I recall for last year, we used:

    Rulebook + latest FAQ EXCEPT for Tech rules.

    So use the rulebook for HBs.

    OK for HBs.

    But what about the rule change concerning bombers with paratroopers?

    From the new FAQ:

    Q.  Bombers carrying Paratroopers must stop moving in the first hostile territory they enter.  If a
    tank is blitzing through an unoccupied hostile territory, does a bomber entering that territory
    during the same Combat Movement phase have to stop there, or can it keep moving?
    A.  It must stop.  Even though the territory is captured as soon as the blitzing tank enters it, and the
    territory is considered friendly at that point, all combat movement is simultaneous.  This means that
    the bomber and tank entered the territory at the same time, when it was still hostile.

    Old FAQ
    A.  Since the territory is captured as soon as the blitzing tank enters it, the territory is considered friendly
    at that point, and the bomber may continue its movement.  This only applies to the “blitzed” territory
    (the territory moved through).  If the tank ends its movement in an unoccupied enemy territory, that
    territory doesn’t change hands until all combat movement is completed, as is the case with any
    unoccupied enemy territory moved into during combat movement.

    I’m just asking because this in fact is not a tech change (paratroopers tech still remains paratroopers tech) but a change of general gameplay using bombers with paratroopers that has not been covered by the rulebook but was introduced by a former FAQ.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @TimTheEnchanter:

    No, last year we used FAQ rules for tech.  (Limitations to improved factories was an FAQ, actually the Paratrooper/blitz rule was in the FAQ as well).

    It seems the appropriate thing to do would be have any open tech game finish using the rules they started under unless both players agree to switch (even if neither side has the tech, purchases may have been geared towards taking advantage of one or the other).  But any new games should probably start under the new FAQ rules.  But it’s not my call.

    I would agree, otherwise confusion may arise when players have to know about a “historical” state of the rules/FAQ that does not correspond with the up to date-rules.
    Just my opinion, of course…


  • Moderator

    Oops, you guys are right.

    USE THE RULES PLUS FAQ (when applicable).

    (note:  I think I was think of an early tourney we had where maybe we didn’t use the updates or something.)


  • 2007 AAR League

    I’m confused.  Do the changes to the FAQ apply to existing league games?  To new games?  Or not at all?

    I’m in a game where my opponent got heavy bombers.


  • Moderator

    If you already started one way then continue as is.

    But all games should go by Rules + FAQ clarifications.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    I still don’t know what exactly the bid rules are.

    If I win a bid of 3, can I then choose to take 3 more IPC’s however I choose (for example, one to each of the 3 Allied bank accounts)?  Can I place one infantry unit on any Allied territory on the map?

    I heard you can’t place a unit on a territory that has nothing on it at game start.  But I’ve never seen actual conventional, accepted bid rules.

    Help?


  • '10

    You can split the money. Units have to be place in territories which already have units and have to be the same nationality eg. a russian infantry can’t be placed in egypt.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Battlingmaxo:

    You can split the money. Units have to be place in territories which already have units and have to be the same nationality eg. a russian infantry can’t be placed in egypt.

    So Italian units can be placed in Libya, but German units can’t?

    Thanks!


  • Moderator

    We made an exception for Lib last year so either Ger or Ita could place units, not sure what other sites did.  However, it is a moot point now since we bid for the Allies.



  • Not totally: England has a USA’s bomber in 1942 scenario. I guess nobody would bid there, but who knows what tricks hide the people under the sleeve? USA bomber bid?  :lol:


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Funcioneta:

    Not totally: England has a USA’s bomber in 1942 scenario. I guess nobody would bid there, but who knows what tricks hide the people under the sleeve? USA bomber bid?  :lol:

    Very good point, Func.  😄
    Yeah, I wouldn’t mind a bomber bid…  Who needs an infantry in Egypt, when you could just bomb the crap out of the Italian fleet?  🙂


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 14
  • 27
  • 118
  • 106
  • 113
  • 17
  • 335
  • 950
I Will Never Grow Up Games

44
Online

13.2k
Users

33.5k
Topics

1.3m
Posts