Move Rules Q



  • Hi, my two teenage sons and I are new to Axis and Allies and have some “newbie”-like questions.  Thank you for being patient with us.

    I’ve read and re-read the rules on moves and can’t figure out the following:

    If I have one infantry unit and one tank unit in the Eastern US and use a transport to get them to Algeria (thus the transport moves through zones 10, 11, and 12), how many moves do the infantry and tank units use respectively?  Does the process of moving from Eastern US to the transport in zone 10 consume a move count?

    One more question:
    Is anyone aware of a simplified set of rules that would help us get familiar with the game so that we can later dig in to the detailed rules?

    Thank you!


  • Official Answers

    Welcome, syvh!

    @syvh:

    If I have one infantry unit and one tank unit in the Eastern US and use a transport to get them to Algeria (thus the transport moves through zones 10, 11, and 12), how many moves do the infantry and tank units use respectively?  Does the process of moving from Eastern US to the transport in zone 10 consume a move count?

    Loading onto and/or unloading from a transport uses up a land unit’s entire movement allowance.  As a result, a land unit move not move before loading or after unloading.  It may both load and unload in the same turn.

    @syvh:

    Is anyone aware of a simplified set of rules that would help us get familiar with the game so that we can later dig in to the detailed rules?

    There are no simplified rules for this game.  There are, however, earlier versions, which may be simpler in some ways.  I’m not sure it’s really worth pursuing that, though, as it may cause more confusion that it cures.



  • Thanks for the quick reply!  We plan to continue our game after church tomorrow.

    I have a clarification question.  You said, “Loading onto and/or unloading from a transport uses up a land unit’s entire movement allowance.”  Yet, you also said that a land unit may BOTH load AND unload in the same turn.  These seem contradictory to me.  Could you clarify?  Also, can you point me to the part of the 1942 edition manual that addresses these things so I can try to understand this in the lingo of the manual?

    Thanks again!


  • Official Answers

    Loading and/or unloading uses up a land unit’s entire movement allowance.  Whether it loads and unloads or just loads or just unloads, it may not move before or after doing so.  This is on page 31, in the third paragraph of the Carry Land Units Unit Characteristic of transports.



  • I also had confusion with this rule while playing. So are you saying that even though an Infantry can only move one each turn does that mean it can load onto a transport and then unload in the same turn? Or does loading count as their one move? Thus they would have to wait until the next turn to unload the infantry.

    Also how does bridging work? I suppose this would be the same question. Can I say, make a bridge from the UK to Norway and during my ‘place new units’ phase take my two newly purchased infantry and move them to Norway via the transport bridge I have made?


  • Official Answers

    Welcome, Concealer!

    @Concealer:

    I also had confusion with this rule while playing. So are you saying that even though an Infantry can only move one each turn does that mean it can load onto a transport and then unload in the same turn? Or does loading count as their one move? Thus they would have to wait until the next turn to unload the infantry.

    Yes, it may load and unload on the same turn.

    @Concealer:

    Also how does bridging work? I suppose this would be the same question. Can I say, make a bridge from the UK to Norway and during my ‘place new units’ phase take my two newly purchased infantry and move them to Norway via the transport bridge I have made?

    No.  Units may only move during the movement phases.  Bridging is simply moving land units across water when the transport doesn’t leave the sea zone.  It follows all of the normal rules of movement by transport.



  • Awesome, thanks for the quick response.

    So a purchased unit must stay in the territory of the IC it is placed at until next turn? Or can you use it for non-combat, reinforcement type moves?

    I apologize, I feel like I’m stealing this thread. I just have a few little questions due to lack of experience.

    Is there a thread or an article somewhere that contains a list of rules most veteran players use? Like fighter escorts on strategic bombing raids, or needing to control both sides of the Suez canal to pass through, or how 1942 rules do NOT have tech at all- do most players still play with tech?


  • Official Answers

    @Concealer:

    So a purchased unit must stay in the territory of the IC it is placed at until next turn? Or can you use it for non-combat, reinforcement type moves?

    New units can’t move until your next turn.

    @Concealer:

    Is there a thread or an article somewhere that contains a list of rules most veteran players use? Like fighter escorts on strategic bombing raids, or needing to control both sides of the Suez canal to pass through, or how 1942 rules do NOT have tech at all- do most players still play with tech?

    Not that I know of.  I’m not sure how many players use the tech rules from other games in this one.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 1
  • 2
  • 15
  • 12
  • 1
  • 2
  • 6
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games

43
Online

13.4k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts