New at this game and I can't beat the allies

• I am new to axis and allies and have played about 10 games.  It is growing on me really fast and I enjoy it a lot.  The thing is I just can’t seem to formulate a winning plan.

Last game as the axis I purchased 10 inf and 1 fighter my first couple of turns and then after that purchased a lot of tanks to attack with the inf against Russia.  I kept my air flight in Paris to fend off the allies from landing in Europe and destroyed a strong allied navy with it.

I was pretty devastated after turn one Russia by the attacks they made.  I lost West Russia and Ukraine with Russia losing like a total of two inf.  So not only did a lose my forces before I ever used them I lost valuable land and points to Russia and since he rolled well he had large forces in Ukraine and West Russia before my first turn.  This set off a pattern of land grabs between Germany and Russia but Russia was always able to keep a respectable amount of points to fight back and I had to watch my back for the English and Americans who wanted to make a landing.  I secured Africa even though my opponent built an IC down there.  I didn’t capture the IC but I held most of Africa for the entire game.

I tried to be patient building up a force to smash Moscow with and my goal was to hit it with a mixture of Inf and tanks.  My opponent started building and landing a lot of fighters in Russia and this made the task more daunting.  I was using 3 transports to shuttle troops from Japan towards Moscow but this got messed up when the Americans came over with a Pacific fleet and I had to fight that off.

My opponent is very good at playing the allies and I really want to beat him.  It just seems that I can’t kill Russia in time before England and America can start landing in Europe.  I can fend them off for quite awhile but I am just not sure how to win.