'Scramble Blocking' question for Krieghund


  • Scramble question for Krieghund. (AAP40)

    Example: The US wants to do an amphibious assault on Japan owned Paulau Island (sz34).

    The US uses a transport and land units from sz48 (Gilbert Island) passing though sz33 (Caroline Islands: 1fighter,operative Airbase) to get to sz34 (Paulua Island).

    Does Japan have the option of using the Caroline Islands’ fighter to “scramble block” the transport as it passes by?

    Rules/concepts to not allow Scramble Blocking:

    1. rulebook>page14>Scramble>paragragh1>“Defending fighters…can be scrambled to defend against attacks in the sea zones surrounding those islands.”

    The point: The US is not 'attacking’sz33, but in fact ‘attacking’ sz34 and Paulau.

    1. rulebook>page8>Spaces on the gameboard>last paragraph>

    “Sea zones are either friendly or hostile. Friendly sea zones contain no surface warships belonging to a power with which you are at war.  Hostile sea zones contain surface warships belonging to a power with which you are at war (this dose not include submarines and transports).”

    The point: there are no surface warships in sz34 to prevent the transport from going to sz35.

    1. rulebook>page13>Transports>paragragh1>
      “If a transport encounters hostile surface warships (not enemy submarines and/or transports) AFTER it begins to move (not counting the sea zone it started in), its movement for the turn ends and it must stop there and conduct sea combat.”

    The point: a scrambled fighter is not a ‘surface warship’.

    Rules/concepts to allow Scramble Blocking:

    a) rulebook>page14>Scramble>paragragh1>
    “These air units can join other friendly units in the sea zone or be the only friendly units there.”

    The point(a weak point): The Airbase in somewhat of an extension if the island’s/seazone defense system.

    There is more wording on scrambled air units on page 16 (under Air Units) that did not seem to apply to this question.

    (Repeating the question) Krieghund:  Does Japan have the option of using the Caroline Islands’ fighter to “scramble block” the transport as it passes by?

    My guess is no, they cannot.


  • No of course they cannot. Scrambling are done after combat move is finished, and the enemy have to end its move in that seazone.

  • Official Q&A

    You are both correct.


  • @Razor:

    No of course they cannot. Scrambling are done after combat move is finished, and the enemy have to end its move in that seazone.

    Good point, thank you for pointing out the game’s mechanics to find the answer.


  • However the scamble can stop the bombardment of that territory right???

  • Official Q&A

    Yup.  Sea battle = no bombardment.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4
  • 3
  • 16
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

50
Online

15.6k
Users

37.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts