1. German troops in Belarus are attacked by 3 infantry from Russia and a fighter from Karelia. After the first round of combat are the troops allowed to retreat to Karelia?
2. And same question if fighter came from Finland through Karelia?
3. Can you retreat into a just captured territory?
Only if that territory was captured by a blitzing tank that moved into the battle being retreated from. Blitzed territories change ownership immediately.
I mean if Ukraine is just conquered and attack in East Poland with some infantry from Poland and a fighter that attacked after flying over Ukraine. Are you then allowed to retreat to Ukraine?
As I read the rules on page 19 all these should be allowed, since the rules say that for Sea units the zone must have been friendly since the start of the turn.
The rules say this:
Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat on the battle board to a single adjacent friendly space from which at least one of the attacking units moved.
The “attacking units” in this case refers to the land or sea units that are being moved. It doesn’t include any air units, as they are not being moved at this point. Air unit movement does not provide a retreat route. This isn’t the best wording, so maybe an FAQ entry is called for.
I think it’s pretty clear how AA guns work from reading their unit profile in the Rulebook. However, I agree that the defense value listed could be a bit misleading. On the other hand, this value has been in place since Revised (we playtesters are so awful that we can actually go back in time and screw things up in the past :roll:), and to my knowledge this is the first time that this question has ever been asked. Maybe it would be better if the defense value value were listed as “Special”.
As for ICs, they’re defense is “NA” because they never fire under any circumstances, which is not true of AA guns.
AA guns actualy worked that way in classic as well