Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Rules Q&A


  • Official Answers

    How about we all just settle down and leave Mr. Jensen in peace so that he can write his preview?  I’m sure that many of your questions will be answered in it.

    If you want to post specific questions on areas he should address, please feel free to do so.  However, arguing about these matters is pointless at this time.



  • @Craig:

    @Brain:

    As i understand it, planes on aircraft carriers while attacked have always been considered defending in air thus they would never be sitting on an aircraft carrier when it gets damaged.

    I am not talking about defending CVs, I am talking about attacking ones.  CVs on which the friendly fighter is just cargo.

    Defending CVs would have the friendly fighters defending in the air and those fighters would have to find another place to land.

    Why would you attack someone and not use your fighters?



  • @Brain:

    Why would you attack someone and not use your fighters?

    Propably in a case where you dont want to kill all the enemy fleet, just weaken them, because they are in a deadzone, and after the first round of attack you want to retreat all your surviving ships to one specific sea-zone, and this can only be done in the combat move.


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    I think the carrier will not be used directly in combat, but rather just launch fighters into battles from the adjacent sea zone and alot of attacks will be hit and run, where the attackers retreat to where the carriers originally launched their planes. This makes more sence historically and carriers attack at one anyway, so its not really needed.

    I like the new repair rules because i always hated that automatic free BB hit thing without any cost. Now their is a cost!

    Great!



  • this just gets more and more fun to think about (clearly I have nothing better to think about).

    Situation: 2 sub’s attack 1 CV with 2 fgt’s of the same nationality of the CV. R1 combat, the subs get 1 hit, the CV is now damaged. CV kills 1 sub. R2 sub hits again. So…now that the CV was damaged can the fgt’s takeoff to go 1 zone to an island? Not according to the rule that you can’t fly off a damaged CV. But, if they are in the air during the combat (even though they can’t participate) then they can move 1 space.

    However, if both subs hit on R1, can the fighters go 1 space to land?

    So, what it comes down to is…are the fgt’s cargo in this battle? that would answer all the questions I think.

    I assume they are not considered cargo unless they are friendly fgt.



  • @Imperious:

    I like the new repair rules because i always hated that automatic free BB hit thing without any cost. Now their is a cost!

    Great!

    I totally agree with that statement.



  • @Brain:

    @Imperious:

    I like the new repair rules because i always hated that automatic free BB hit thing without any cost. Now their is a cost!

    Great!

    I totally agree with that statement.

    I too totally agree with that statement. I think it was Frog that first made Larry aware of this issue, and now it is fixed at last. tanks Frog


  • SFO Founder TripleA Admin

    And risk never getting an advance copy ever again? No way. Sorry guys. I will try to write up a rules differences guide before release (I hope).

    @Brain:

    djensen should post a copy of the rulebook.



  • but do fighters launch against a target they can not hit? Submarines?

    In effect…one hit from a sub on a carrier…damages the carrier THEN kills 2 planes if you arent in a seazone with another friendly landing site.


  • SFO Founder TripleA Admin

    4. Has sub-stalling been re-introduced to Axis & Allies with these rules? USA is in Hawaii SZ with a transport, sub, AC, fighter. It is Japan’s turn. Japan’s combat move is to move a sub into the Hawaii SZ. Combat in Hawaii SZ commences. Step 1, move units to battle board. Step 2, submarines strike or submerge. Japan plaer chooses to submerge. Now, it says in the rules in more than one place that units cannot be loaded if enemy units are present. Is this all correct?

    If so, this means all player must have destroyers in their fleets or else the transports in the fleet and troops on the island can be sub-stalled.



  • i thought submerged submarines do not count as occupying a territory untill they surface at the begining of the player owning the sub’s next turn.

    Does an enemy unit “count as present” if it is submerged?



  • I’m familiar with the AA50 rules that essentially say the same as you quoted. However, they also say subs don’t count as an enemy combat vessel for this occasion.

    If you read under the submarine specific rules, does it clarify it there? How about under transports


  • Official Answers

    @djensen:

    4. Has sub-stalling been re-introduced to Axis & Allies with these rules?

    No.

    @djensen:

    USA is in Hawaii SZ with a transport, sub, AC, fighter. It is Japan’s turn. Japan’s combat move is to move a sub into the Hawaii SZ. Combat in Hawaii SZ commences. Step 1, move units to battle board. Step 2, submarines strike or submerge. Japan plaer chooses to submerge. Now, it says in the rules in more than one place that units cannot be loaded if enemy units are present. Is this all correct?

    No, it says in the rules that transports may not load in a hostile sea zone.  It also says that the presence of enemy subs and/or transports by themselves does not make a sea zone hostile.  Only sea zones containing surface warships belonging to a power with which you are at war are hostile.



  • @Krieghund:

    @djensen:

    1. China cannot attack Mongolia because it does not have a National China marker on the territory. Correct?

    Correct

    OK, and invisible irreal ilogical ACME wall give us again the first bug of the game: Japan can attack Mongolia and create a place from where they can attack chinamen but chinamen cannot attack Japan once more  :x It’s a setback from old AAPacific

    Shame and dishonor!  😢 Freedom for China!

    Good point that Mongolia issue, DJensen. +1  🙂


  • SFO Founder TripleA Admin

    Kieghung,

    Thanks, we just found that info too.

    5. A fighter unit is not required for a Kamakazi, correct? It’s just a “special rule?”


  • Official Answers

    @djensen:

    5. A fighter unit is not required for a Kamakazi, correct? It’s just a “special rule?”

    Correct.


  • Official Answers

    @Funcioneta:

    @Krieghund:

    @djensen:

    1. China cannot attack Mongolia because it does not have a National China marker on the territory. Correct?

    Correct

    OK, and invisible irreal ilogical ACME wall give us again the first bug of the game: Japan can attack Mongolia and create a place from where they can attack chinamen but chinamen cannot attack Japan once more  :x It’s a setback from old AAPacific

    Chinese units may not move outside China (except for Kwangtung and Burma).  As in AA50, this represents the fact that the Chinese are too involved in their own civil war to concern themselves with external matters other than defending their country against the Japanese invaders.


  • SFO Founder TripleA Admin

    6. Are convoys are confusing?

    Here are the questions? I’m playing as Japan.

    A. Can I move into a space has a convoy adjacent to an Allied power coast/island and not be declaring war?
    B. Can I move into a space has a convoy adjacent to both an Allied power and Axis power and not declare war?
    C. During the collect income phase if I have, say a sub, in a convoy space adjacent to an enemy coastline, do they loose income even though I did not meet the conditions of “attacking a convoy?”
    D. How do the “attacking” a convoy rules in combat move and combat apply to the rules about losing income at during the collect income phase?
    E. Is “attacking” a convoy an act of war?

    There are 3 of us and we’re all lost on these rules.



  • Jensen,

    How many tact bombers does Japan have in the set??

    How many do you think are needed??

    This is exactly why I preordered 2 of them- WOTC/AH especially of late (ex. AA1942) seem to be cheaping out on their products- you can tell they cut some corners in Pacific40 also. 😞


  • Official Answers

    @djensen:

    A. Can I move into a space has a convoy adjacent to an Allied power coast/island and not be declaring war?

    Yes, you can, if you don’t actually attack it.

    @djensen:

    B. Can I move into a space has a convoy adjacent to both an Allied power and Axis power and not declare war?

    Yes, you can, if you don’t actually attack it.

    @djensen:

    C. During the collect income phase if I have, say a sub, in a convoy space adjacent to an enemy coastline, do they loose income even though I did not meet the conditions of “attacking a convoy?”

    No.  You must meet the conditions.

    @djensen:

    D. How do the “attacking” a convoy rules in combat move and combat apply to the rules about losing income at during the collect income phase?

    Convoy attacks occur only during the Collect Income phase of the attacked power.  The amount of the convoy attack is subtracted from the income collected.

    @djensen:

    E. Is “attacking” a convoy an act of war?

    Yes.



  • djensen, can you (or Krieg) post the conditions of attacking convoys that you are referring to.
    It sounds like subs alone can’t attack a convoy zone, which doesn’t make sense, as subs did a lot of damage to merchant shipping.
    Do you announce a convoy attack in your turn or wait until you enemies turn (collect income phase).

    Finally if the enemy moves into one of your convoy zones and meats the above mentioned conditions, but you clear the zone in your combat phase then there would be no attack/payment right?



  • djensen I was following your game on twitter.
    rd 2 UK declared war on Japan and attacked Siam.
    rd 3 Japan counter attacked Siam and also invaded the unprotected Dutch Isles. (do the English get control of these islands if liberated).

    At this point UK & Japan are at war, but the USA isn’t ? I thought that an attack on the Britts automatically brought the USA in to the war. According to your post the USA didn’t declare war till the end of its turn in rd3. Is that by rule or could the US made an attack on Japan or did they simply not have units in range. After that rd 4 Japan invaded Phil etc.

    PS: Thanks for your post and putting your first game online. I know it must be tough fielding all these questions. I try to keep mine on what your doing at the time. Krieg has been a big help answering questions so you can keep on doing what you need to.



  • @Krieghund:

    Chinese units may not move outside China (except for Kwangtung and Burma).  As in AA50, this represents the fact that the Chinese are too involved in their own civil war to concern themselves with external matters other than defending their country against the Japanese invaders.

    Bla bla bla … you can think chinamen would attack japanese troops outside China if they were to attack China, and also lone trannies at chinese coast  😛 Other thing is that China had territorial claims on Mongolia in that time, go figure!

    And why made pay only to China? If China gets ilogic limits, why not make all China non-blitzable? After all, they were non-industrial mountain zones, uh?

    My main complain, however, is balance issues: axis can exploit this rule at pleasure landing lone bomber at FIC, sneaking merry italians or germans from Kaz/Cau/Per to chinese rear or, surprise, enter Mongolia and create a safe front for japs to attack. It’s even more funny when japs arrive to novo and attack China from the rear. It’s a gamey exploit, and the only solution is quit those irreal walls

    The right dinamic was old AAPacific, this is a setback. The minimal approach was letting chinamen attack axis held territory or sea zones, mainly to prevent exploits, but also for historical accuracy (Burma not attacked in AA50, come on!) and war logic



  • Thanks Yope that that makes sense now.



  • The fact is : If Japan can go to nov and attack China from behind, Russia is in deep trouble…

    China was never meant to be a real power, I think, to the game designers. There are already 3 major allies, against 3 (or 2) major axis. China seems to be a little bit stronger just to slow down Japan. We still don’t have the game right now, so we can’t really say if China is better now or before. Give the game a chance.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 36
  • 7
  • 36
  • 4
  • 18
  • 5
  • 51
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games

33
Online

13.3k
Users

33.5k
Topics

1.3m
Posts