Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Question about radar


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    I played a new opponent F2F last weekend.  I had all 6 chart 2 techs for USA and then he got heavy bombers for Germany.  Then I realized that since I had radar for the US, I could export an American AA to the UK to double their protection against Strat bombing.  My opponent protested loudly (and I haven’t even done it yet).  He didn’t think the teched up AA gun could shoot at his bomber.  I said I thought the best AA gun in the territory could fire.  I haven’t double checked, but I believe the rules are not crystal clear on the matter.  I asked him “what if I transport the British AA away from the UK and the USA AA is the only one there?”  He didn’t like that either.  I suppose he just wanted to bomb the daylights out of me with minimal consequences.  What say you?


  • Official Answers

    It’s perfectly legal for a US AA gun to be moved to the UK (place a US NCM under it to indicate ownership).  You can have more than one AA gun in a territory.  When enemy planes attack, only one AA gun can fire, but it’s up to the owning player(s) which one that will be.



  • I agree with Krieghund too.  There is nothing stating you cannot do that.  As well gamerman01, great for you to even think of doing that.  Not sure I would have!!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Thx, guys.

    Yep, we are in round 10, and I have 6 techs with USA.  I never rolled more than 2 a turn (except 3 in last turn to get heavies I guess), and I think none in the first round.  I was incurring heavy pyschological damage on my opponent by rolling 2 a turn and usually getting a 6!  Lucky for him Heavy Bombers were the last one I acquired.

    If we continue our game, I will definitely have to move the radar to the UK.  Hopefully I have a transport off the Eastern US right now.  Thanks guys for backing up my interpretation of the rules.  I won’t feel cheesy for doing it now.



  • if USA gets radar, buy about 3 aa guns.  put 1 in the UK, 1 in russia and 1 in cau.  that will help keep the axis from SBRing uk and Russia to death.  seems whenever i try for tech with the US, i always get radar first.  some people say “worthless tech for USA”. i say not.  send the aa gun from washington to london first, then get some over to russia.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    You’re right - it’s far from worthless for USA.

    Only problem is, if my radar deters my opponent from SBR, it just makes it more likely he’ll bomb my units and I won’t even get the AA at “1” chance!!



  • yes but then you’ll get a chance to shoot down his bombers with something that rolls def at at least 2.  unless you have some bomber on bomber action going on…


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 12
I Will Never Grow Up Games

44
Online

13.1k
Users

33.3k
Topics

1.3m
Posts