Q. On page 29 it says that your aircraft may hit enemy submarines if you have a destroyer in the sea zone, but it doesn’t say anywhere in the rules that aircraft can’t hit submarines without a destroyer present. Do you always need a destroyer in a battle in order for your air units to hit enemy subs?
A. Yes. Air units can only hit subs if there is a friendly destroyer on the battle board, otherwise hits made by air units must be applied to units other than submarines. If you’re the attacker, destroyers in the same sea zone belonging to your ally don’t count, since they’re not involved in the battle.
THX Kriegshund, you are right!
I apologize to all readers of my previous posts for having answered without this important information.
In this case the subs would sink the transport without interference of the fighters.
Even a lone transport can
In AA50, enemy subs and transports can be completely ignored, as long as you don’t engage any of them.
(If you attack a sub/transport combo with a fighter and also try to land there amphibiously, the sub can sink your transport. You can’t pick and choose what to ignore within a single zone)