• Hi. I’m new to the KJF strategy and I need help with my strategy for the US. On my first turn I start to build 2 ac and 1 sub. Then on second turn I buy 1 ftr and 4 sub. On turn 3 I start to advance to take Solomon islands. Turn 4 I take west indies. Then what? Suppose that Japan has lost 0 units and have collected all his fleet in SZ 60. I have heard that many buys an IC on turn 4 or 5. Why is that and where is it best to place it? Hope you guys can help me! Also, what is the best buys after turn 3 or 4?

• '16 '15 '10

I don’t believe a Pacific offensive is the optimal move unless Japan had some bad luck or didn’t make necessary attacks on Turn 1 (like say Pearl Harbor).  But if you go for it, your objective should be building up defensive fleet and taking Borneo or East Indies.  Then build a factory there, where you can reinforce your navy directly.  Always have at least 1 transport, preferably 2, with your fleet.  You have the right idea re. buys–aircraft carriers with fighters and subs are the right choices.

• So when do u guys use this strategy? I tend to use this strategy when Germany buys very much inf. first turn and/or Japan buys 2 IC’s first turn . Any comments?

• I look at a few different things before I commit to a KJF game as the US player.

First thing I need to see is if my allies are leaning that direction and how heavy.  It’s one thing to say it and it’s another to commit to it.

1. I would like to see Russia do something besides consolidate forces close to Moscow and write off the Far East as a loss.  Maybe send 1-2 INF to Sinkiang and mass the Far East units in Yakut.  Granted that’s not much but it may be all Russia can do.

2. I would like to see the UK player attempt to disrupt Japans flow of traffic.  I would like to see the Japanese transport in SZ 59 gone. (Limiting Japan to only sending two units to the mainland on the first turn.)  I also want to see where they send the Indian and Australian Navies.