Submerge or retreat. which first?



  • the OOB rules state that subs choose to submerge in the press attack and retreat step.  so who goes first?  after reading the rules, i can’t figure this out. :?

    say UK attacks G navy.  if G has left only 3 subs, UK has BB, 2 TRNs, and some air.  can G choose to submerge first, trapping the UK navy?  or can UK choose to retreat first?

    different for LHTR?


  • Official Q&A

    The attacker retreats before the defender submerges, in both OOB and LHTR.

    This is clearly spelled out in the LHTR rules.  However, since the sequence is never specifically stated in the OOB rules, the general principle that the attacker acts first must be applied.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 52
  • 6
  • 6
  • 29
  • 65
  • 14
  • 8
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

55
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts