Just curiously, how do you plan on getting it printed? I’ve been looking around, and so far most printing sites are almost as expensive as getting the game itself.
Oh, printing the map isn’t about saving money (unless it was 2016 and you were trying to “make” AA50 without spending $500+ on E-Bay for an out-of-print used copy of AA50).
TBH, I’d be surprised if you could print a map for under the price of the game… the purpose of printing the map is usually to make a BIGGER map that is a single piece without creases or separate board issues for a more enjoyable way to play the game (I have printed maps for all my versions of A&A… I like bigger maps without the creases).
If you’re looking to save money, by all means, buy the game and play on the board that comes with it… that’s the cheapest way to play AA50 (at least in 2017).
Also ignoring China and letting them liberate Kiangsu or Manchuria will negate a Japanese National Objective. It takes almost no effort of Japan’s part to eliminate China. Manchuria and Kiangsu are also great for Japanese ICs. They are on the mainland so they do not require a navy to service them. They also can only be liberated by the Allies, never captured. This means should you loose them, they can not be used to produce units that will be used against you.
Also consider that Chinese infantry are “free” any other Allied unit in that area had to be bought and brought there. Which is a bit easier said than done. I see no reason not to stomp China flat from the get go.
Even if those extra Fighters survive the battle and then have to crash into the sea?
The thing is, you don’t know if those fighters will have to crash into the sea. They may end up on non-combat move without a valid landing spot but when you perform your combat moves there’s always a statistical change that the carrier will kill the 100 battleships (even though it should be about the same as you de-materializing while reading this message and materializing on the next room) thus the combat move satisfies the rule of a valid landing spot (regardless of how improbable it might be).
Combat moving 2 extra fighters to a battle goes against that same rule because there’s simply no possibility for those fighters to land during non-combat as they are moved (unless a carrier magically pops up out of nowhere into the middle of the battle board - odds for that happening should be the same as you teleporting yourself to another room) .