You don’t have to take the fighter first. It’s perfectly legal to take the carrier and leave the fighter stranded. In order for the fighter’s move to not be a suicide mission, the only requirement is that it have a possible place to land (assuming the defender never hits). Once the battle actually starts, it’s up to the owning player which casualties are taken.
The rules dealing with suicide missions address movement only. There is nothing in the rules that indicates that casualties must be taken in a certain order to preserve fighters’ landing spaces.
No on all counts.
Here are the reasons:
#1: Rockets originate from AA guns. AA guns can ONLY move in non-combat.
#2: Non-Combat Movement rules specify that any land unit moved/engaged in combat may NOT move in non-combat.
#3: The “Rocket” could only be moved toward Russia in non-combat, which is AFTER the phase in which Rockets fire, so you cannot move then fire.
#4: Any units on a Transport are considered Cargo. They cannot attack or defend while on a transport, and they die if the transport dies.
Ah right of course, I really should not post so close to waking up! So it was as I suspected, a defending plane may use a SINGLE movement to find a place to land, so no land in an adjcent SZ would be legal. Thanks.
Which is better?Â Which is more fair?Â I suppose it depends on your perspective.Â For me, I think of the 4 movement for fighters as being the hard and fast rule unless long range aircraft, then it’s 6 movement (I played classic for many years).Â In OOB Revised, this quirky new rule bent the old rules that I had become accustomed to, so definitely seemed odd.Â The LHTR Revised ruleset seems to intuitively make more sense to me, and doesn’t bend that rule.Â So for me I like this rule change made in LHTR.
I think about it like this: If I wanted to send my fighter to combat, with the intention of landing it on a carrier that was not yet fully launched, when it returned from it’s mission would it return to the shipyard, or would it land on the carrier once it was launched?Â I think the answer would be to the carrier once it was launched.Â And that’s how I justify this rule change.
Personally, having seen the pain of trying to get a bunch of fly boys onto a real live ship, I prefer the requirement that the planes land at the airbase closest to the shipyard(IC) and embark on the carrier when it launches (is built). I find it ridiculously unrealistic to have those planes “meet” and land on a CV that is still trying to figure out if all the bilge level alarms work and why they get seawater out of number 3 A/C refueling station instead of JP5.
Heck, if I really wanted to argue this I would say that CVs can only embark new aircraft if the aircraft are built on a CV. No carrier next to the IC? No new naval avaiation units. Your naval aviators get waxed far from home? Don’t go expecting those Army Air guys to figure out how to land on a bouncing postage stamp after they have gotten so used to 1500’ long runways that don’t move and are wider than a carrier is long. I might be convinced that land based air can convert to sea based air in a Non Combat Move but during Combat??? I can see it now, the FTR pulls up next to the refueling plane, fills up his tanks after combat and orders a side of tailhooks. Of course, all of this is trading playability for complexity. If I really wanted to do that, I would would not be playing A&A.
Give me OOB rules of FTR at the IC can move to the fresh built CV and stop giving the FTR an extra range of space during the combat move if they happen to grow tailhooks and figure out how to land on new carriers on their way back from the fight.
LHTR 2.0 says to this:
“If the attacker has not withdrawn all units, defending submarines may submerge.”
This implies defending subs submerge after the attacker has chosen to either retreat (or submerge) or not.
(page 16 - Condition B) Defender withdraws subs by submerging)
Page 14 is more to the point.
It categorically states that the Attacker choses to press the attack or retreat BEFORE defending submarines chose to submerge or remain surfaced.
This poll and post is even more difficult to answer than the combat poll.Â This one not only depends on prior combat, but also on the outcome of those combats.Â Your planned NCM can be obsolete and/or foolhardy by the time it’s time to make it.
Like Switch says, the best laid plans last only until contact with the enemy. (paraphrased)