About to play for my first time tonite



  • I have a few questions before we take the plunge.

    1. can a transport in a sea zone still containing enemy ships unload their cargo when the survive the naval engagement?

    2. artilleries can shoot at naval units in the adjacent square.  so the artillery can participate in the naval engagement then participate in the land engagement?

    3. purchased units are placed in the base card and requires 1 supply token if you want to place it in the +1 sea square adjacent to the base card.  is this true?
    4
    . if there are four submarines attacking a fleet, how would this battle be handled?  i understand subs can target a specific ship… can someone explain this scenario and how the dices are rolled and counted?

    Thanks in advance!

    Donny


  • Official Answers

    @shohoku201:

    1. can a transport in a sea zone still containing enemy ships unload their cargo when the survive the naval engagement?

    Yes.  You may also load units onto transports when there are enemy ships in the sea zone.

    @shohoku201:

    2. artilleries can shoot at naval units in the adjacent square.  so the artillery can participate in the naval engagement then participate in the land engagement?

    Yes, but they can only fire on one sea zone per turn.

    @shohoku201:

    3. purchased units are placed in the base card and requires 1 supply token if you want to place it in the +1 sea square adjacent to the base card.  is this true?

    Yes, one supply token per ship.

    @shohoku201:

    4. if there are four submarines attacking a fleet, how would this battle be handled?  i understand subs can target a specific ship… can someone explain this scenario and how the dices are rolled and counted?

    First, you move and attack with one sub.  Move the sub (or not), choose a target in the sea zone, and roll a die.  If using the battle box, just look at the first die result, ignoring the casualty chart.  If the result is one or two, you hit the chosen target.  If the target was a battleship, turn it on its side to denote that its free hit from its Heavy Armor special ability has been used - it will remain on its side for the rest of the turn, vulnerable to another hit.  Otherwise, the results depend on the die roll and unit type.  If the result was two and the target has the Resilience special ability, it is damaged - set it aside in the sea zone.  If the result was one or the target does not have the Resilience special ability, the target is destroyed and put back in the box.  Either way, any land units carried as cargo are destroyed.  Fighters are considered to be in the air, so they are uneffected if their carrier is sunk or damaged.

    Repeat the process with the next sub, choosing the same target (if the first sub didn’t destroy it) or a different one.  Only two things are different in the second and subsequent attacks.  If a battleship already on its side is hit, treat it as a normal target - destroyed on a one, damaged on a two.  If a damaged ship is hit again, whether with a one or a two, it is destroyed and removed.

    Repeat the process for the other two subs.  After all four subs have moved and attacked, remove any damaged ships and place them in the damaged area of your opponent’s base card.

    See the FAQ for more information.  Happy gaming!



  • What is the most misunderstood rule or common mistake that new players make in their 1st

    game??    :?


  • Official Answers

    That’s easy - trying to apply rules from other A&A games to this one.  This game is completely different from every other A&A game.  You need to try not to read in rules from other games that aren’t in this one.  Just try to pretend that this game doesn’t say “Axis & Allies” on it when you read them.


  • Official Answers 2007 AAR League

    @Shakespeare:

    What is the most misunderstood rule or common mistake that new players make in their 1st

    game??    :?

    Was answered with this:

    @Krieghund:

    That’s easy - trying to apply rules from other A&A games to this one.  This game is completely different from every other A&A game.  You need to try not to read in rules from other games that aren’t in this one.  Just try to pretend that this game doesn’t say “Axis & Allies” on it when you read them.

    And that is exactly correct (emphasis added.) Same goes for Battle of the Bulge.

    The biggest specific source of confusion though is the combat system mostly from thinking that it works like other A&A games instead of being divided into phases with random casulaties.

    Second would be submarines mostly from trying to apply sub rules/abilities and destroyer rules/abilities from other games. Also though because subs choose a target to attack while other casualties are random.

    But just take the rulebook as having nothing in common with any other game and confusion and mistakes will be kept to a minimum.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 10
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 27
  • 11
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

52
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts