We all know the rule about attacking subs having the sneak ability, so they shoot first and units that they hit are lost without being able of shooting their ‘casualty shoot’ (if no DD present)
but something it’s not clear for me is what happens with defending subs. They should roll their dices first (like attacking ones)… but what happens with their hits? does attacking ships torpedoed by defending units sunk without even attacking?
Attacker has three Cruisers
Defender has four subs and one cruiser
battle: defender rolls his subs and got 3-2-5-1! ok! one hit…
what happens next? are one attacking cruiser already lost and the attacker rolls just 2 dices during his attacking phase?