If the sub stays in sz 5, it can not be taken as a casualty since the the UK/USA does not have a DD in position at this time. It is useless for defense in the short run in sz5.
I am worried about an air attack. 2 fighters a 1 Bomber could trash my fleet, and i can take the SS as a soaker or cant i?
I figure move it to sz 7 for the time being since it can not be attacked to see what the allies do. (flexability since it is deployed closer to the allies)
Yes , while i like the idea of multiple targets, the allies also have that US bomber in UK, which can easily finish off a Baltic fleet after a UK hit. If Germany gets hit with 2 fighters and 1 bomber and is left with a cruiser and transport… the US player would take a chance with his bomber to knock off my cruiser/ transport because the exchange favors him.
I would prefer to keep my sub as an extra soak to keep this from happening.
If the rules have changed in this respect of planes and subs let me know, but i am only aware that transports cant be allocated as soakers, while subs can.
It might prevent the USA vessels in sz 10 from moving to sz18 on their way to Africa. The German fig in Morroco (if it survives the sz12 attack) and the sub in sz 7 would discourage it.
I don’t think the UK would try to block in sz 6, so the sub could move back to sz 5 if needed or move to sz 13 in Rd2
I think if i sent it out the Soviet sub would hit it. Also, you do see that subs no longer block ships…except when destroyers are moving thru. So they cut out sub stall.