Modules for ABattlemap



  • @TimTheEnchanter:

    The Chinese IC really seemed like the logical choice for the damage token,

    And frankly, I found some mean-spirited humor in the implication that the more and more your factories became Chinese factories, the worse they became.  😄

    He, good one  :lol: karma +1


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Yea, the China IC is a good token for damage, but we really need the map edited like in AARe so that there is an area below to represent all the technologies, maybe even a Victory City counter.



  • I really like the Big Pieces, so I think that I will start using the Chinese flags as damage token or the Chinese factory itself.
    If somone edits the Big Pieces an adds  a damaged Factory, it would be the best choice.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    I like the standard ToolPieces.bmp better than the BigPieces. On my large 1920x1200 screen the big pieces do not improve.
    What makes ABattlemap with ToolPieces.bmp really comfortable to me ist the Windows tool magnify.exe.

    Just take a look at

    http://i43.tinypic.com/2ns6xxt.jpg

    to view a screenshot of my settings. Please note that I had to reduce the size of the picture to 1600x1000 due to tinypic restrictions.

    With the help of this tool I have a complete overview and gain a brilliant view to the place where the action is or where I want the action to be 😉


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Oh, I went back to standard pieces a long time ago.  Doesn’t change the fact we need someone to paste a segment on the bottom of the map (or top, but bottom is less annoying) with charts you can place flags on to represent which of the 12 technologies you have and possibly a tracker chart for victory cities as well.

    Reference the AARe map for an idea what I am talking about. (If I had a clue what image file needed to be altered, I’D do it myself!  It’s just a matter of copy/pasting it from AARe to AA50 and altering the text!)



  • Here is my Big Pieces edit with a damaged factroy in the place of the Chinese Factory.  Maybe someone will like it.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=d15029b5f55b2eddd2db6fb9a8902bda



  • @Cmdr:

    Doesn’t change the fact we need someone to paste a segment on the bottom of the map (or top, but bottom is less annoying) with charts you can place flags on to represent which of the 12 technologies you have and possibly a tracker chart for victory cities as well.

    Reference the AARe map for an idea what I am talking about. (If I had a clue what image file needed to be altered, I’D do it myself!  It’s just a matter of copy/pasting it from AARe to AA50 and altering the text!)

    I was thinking about something like this too, maybe also adding IPC counters for each nation (so Arabia can be kept clean), and a turn counter possibly… Anyhow, if you could adjust the map.bmp file in one of the modules, and mail it to me ( <forum name="">at gmail dot com), I’ll generate sektor files and put things together and update the mediafire. a44bigdog pm’d me about this too, and hopefully he can send an adjusted map.bmp too.

    @jeffdestroyer:

    Here is my Big Pieces edit with a damaged factroy in the place of the Chinese Factory.  Maybe someone will like it.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=d15029b5f55b2eddd2db6fb9a8902bda

    Since the bigpieces also need a damaged factory token, your file will be implemented, tnx :)</forum>


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Already done, Master Holkann!

    I’ll link it here, it’s in JPG so you’ll have to save it as a BMP. (My old Paint Shop Pro from JASC does this, so I’m sure whatever you are using can too, considering my JASC software was released in 1994!)

    I also emailed you the bmp, but the jpg is there too (in case anyone wants to look at critique it before it’s finalized.)

    AA50_1941_Enhanced_Map.jpg


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    BTW, the idea is to use flag icons in the little boxes to mark technologies and stuff.  I’m sure you knew that, but I wanted to clarify.

    Anyway, it’s about as fancy as I think it needs to be to function the way we want, it just needs to be made into usable space so the flags don’t stack on each other and the entire program does not crash when you try to use the new area under the map. 🙂


  • 2007 AAR League

    Nice Map, hopefully we can get it working.



  • I think adding turn and IPC counters would be unnecessary clutter added. As it is right now the system of adding a flag in the Sahara after each countries turn and using Saudi as a the bank is a simple and elegant solution.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @a44bigdog:

    I think adding turn and IPC counters would be unnecessary clutter added. As it is right now the system of adding a flag in the Sahara after each countries turn and using Saudi as a the bank is a simple and elegant solution.

    Agreed.  Everyone’s pretty much used to Saudi Arabia being the “Bank” and Sahara being the turn counter.  Though, to be honest, why do we need a turn counter?  Everyone names their maps with the country and turn anyway!



  • If you did use an expanded map with the counters like that, you’d probably want to use an additional counter for active research teams as well.  Funcioneta and I have been putting flags in spain, but if you’re going to put that much in to track techs, you should also track the researchers as well.

    I like the concept (and have played around with various ways to alter the map to accommodate something similar).  However that particular layout seems to waste an incredible amount of space and makes the image - which doesn’t fit on my screen as it is - even bigger and more cumbersome.

    I was also thinking we could add a row to the toolpieces and make custom icons for the various techs (a paratrooper, a rocket, a radar array, etc), and just line up the research tokens and acquired techs next to each country’s flag in spain, mongolia, or argentina or something like that - similar to how flags are used in saudi, etc.  But for that to work, everyone would have to use a version of toolpieces with the 8th row for techs, or they dissappear when you open the map.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    The spain thing works fine.  The problem with the map as it currently is, is that there is no functionable way to tell who has what technology.

    For instance, Radar and Rockets could both be realistically represented by AA Guns.  Likewise, Paratroopers and Mechanized Infantry could realistically be represented by an Infantry unit.  Researchers and War Bonds by flags.  How do you represent Jet Fighters and Long Range Aircraft?

    Just about anything you would think to use as a token to remind you of what technology you have could be mistaken later for a different technology (with some obvious exceptions, like Super Submarines or Improved Factories, but even those could be Improved Shipyards (either of them))



  • It’s not a good idea to post a non-final version with this much changes, because some people would have the changes, others wouldn’t, and both would have to upgrade to the final version sooner or later, making pbm a bit more cumbersome. So for now I’m posting a “work in progress” version here: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=e0d3928ee746fd2b91b20cc0d07ba4d2fc8df7fa75a88935 (obsolete, for latest version: see first post of this thread).
    If you guys got any suggestions/comments, go ahead, I’ll try to explain why I did stuff this or that way, but maybe some other way would be better, so go ahead.

    As for the map being to big: I’m aiming at a resolution fitting 16801050 under a windows machine (so without a scrollbar at the side or bottom). Currently, the .bmp file is 1560960, but I don’t know if that’s too big for 1680*1050 to fit…

    'bout the turn counter: they don’t hurt anyone, if you don’t like them, simply don’t use them 😉

    'bout everyone being used to Saudi as a bank: I’m used to a bike, but I wouldn’t mind having a car. And if I really wish, I can still use my bike whilst having a car 😉

    Ow, I also adjusted some other stuff, like the flag markers (sry Tim :evil: ) and the little isles.

    'nyhow, give it a try, and plz tell what you think of it 🙂



  • the icons were not going to the correct areas on the bottom of the map. After placing any icon on the bottom of the map Abattlemap crashed.



  • From the flames of Europe site.

    One can use also in-scanned maps between 1000x500 and 2000x1000
    (the ratio does not have to be 2:1)


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    That actually works marvelously.

    Love the new Russian flag too, btw.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Cmdr:

    That actually works marvelously.

    Love the new Russian flag too, btw.

    Excellent Map, Thanks HolKann for putting it together.

    Just an aside, I disagree with Jen, Russian flag should be the sickle and hammer, they were commies, and nothing says commie like the sickle and hammer.  😄 😄



  • 😢  Keep the Hammer & sickle!!!        :lol:


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    You can copy the old toolpieces and put them back in the folder, Jeff



  • Well so far looks like I am the only one this is not working for. As soon as I minimize battlemap the program crashes.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    I have not tried to minimize it.  I know it crashes when you play around in the new area too long, so save often when using that area.



  • @a44bigdog:

    Well so far looks like I am the only one this is not working for. As soon as I minimize battlemap the program crashes.

    @Cmdr:

    I have not tried to minimize it.  I know it crashes when you play around in the new area too long, so save often when using that area.

    There was a little bug, sry  :oops:
    Should be fixed now (the .MAP file wasn’t neatly sync’d with the .bmp).

    @jeffdestroyer:

    😢   Keep the Hammer & sickle!!!        :lol:

    They are there, you just have to have a really good look 😉

    Ow, and thanks for all the help you guys gave: toolpieces, bigpieces, tech drawings, VC counters… Some thing missing though is a nice photoshopped .bmp, kinda like IL’s, but I’m lacking the time and skills for now.
    However, if you like any new counters/things added/things changed to the map, now is the perfect time to ask 🙂

    As soon as I get your blessings, I’m gonna make a 42 module and put them in the first post.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    we need to redownload to get the fixed maps then I take it?


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts