China’s first turn is treated in the same way as any other turn. It gets the number of infantry indicated by the number of territories it owns at the beginning of its turn.
Jeffdestroyer is correct. One infantry for every two territories means that odd territories don’t count.
Even if those extra Fighters survive the battle and then have to crash into the sea?
The thing is, you don’t know if those fighters will have to crash into the sea. They may end up on non-combat move without a valid landing spot but when you perform your combat moves there’s always a statistical change that the carrier will kill the 100 battleships (even though it should be about the same as you de-materializing while reading this message and materializing on the next room) thus the combat move satisfies the rule of a valid landing spot (regardless of how improbable it might be).
Combat moving 2 extra fighters to a battle goes against that same rule because there’s simply no possibility for those fighters to land during non-combat as they are moved (unless a carrier magically pops up out of nowhere into the middle of the battle board - odds for that happening should be the same as you teleporting yourself to another room) .
Oh then your not that guy…
This guy named randyjohnwayne on ebay claims he has games with upwards of 20,000 pieces at one time. He sells hundreds of pieces for AA games and hoards the good ones. I chatted with him on the phone before and i got some incredible stories of 1 hour battles just to resolve one freaking battle!
And no i have no idea how his games get to this level of madness. I guess his playing group does not like combat unless they get thousands of pieces.
I would surely love to see a picture of these so called “Battles”