I have thought of playing against myself but how can you go forward knowing your enemies strategy
All I can say is don’t knock it 'til you’ve tried it. The best strategies are changing all the time anyway, I think. Also, you don’t know what the dice will do. I’ve played games against myself since I was a little kid. Obviously not games where secrets are kept (battleship, card games, etc), but many games are very playable by yourself. A&A lends itself very well to this.
About 1941 My buddy bought an industrial complex first round in India and second round bought AC and Battleship. Plus the US went full out pacific. We didnt play long enough to see Germany explode but I could clearly see that Japan wasn’t going anywhere. This was my reason behind questioning the axis advantage. I will just play some games and get back to ya on it :lol:
You guys are just inexperienced. You do NOT buy an IC in India on UK1. Japan should be able to take that over on round 2 or 3 easily, and you’ve just built a forward IC for Japan. Even if you go all out to protecting it with Russia and stuff, this just means you are not concentrating on Germany enough. All UK money should go to building units on UK in 1941 scenario. I have never, ever had an opponent try building an Indian IC on UK1 in 1941.
I can definately try and figure out how to get a battlemap or u can just tell me how :-P.
I also heard of this die counting system which its based on calculations rather than rolling. How does that work? (sry again for extreme noobyism :roll:)
It’s OK, we were all there once. Look under the “software” section of the boards, in the stickied threads, for Abattlemap.
combat & non-combat movement questions
Unless I am a complete amateur I am pretty sure u cannot, in non combat move units into a territory that u just took over(except AA gun). So my question comes in two parts:
no, actually, you are wrong. You can always non-com units into a territory you just took. You can even move tanks THROUGH them! I didn’t use to know this either.
- Lets say u blitz with a tank into 2 empty enemy territories. Can your infantry move into the first territory in non combat or must he have moved forward with the tank in combat?
Can move in noncombat
2)Lets say you have several ships in a sz. U would like to attack the island in the adjacent sz which contains NO ENEMY BOATS! U proceed to move your transport along with the other ships (no bombardments). If you moved all your ships into that sz is that considered a combat move? Is it then fair to say that it was your error an they should have been moved in non combat or is that clearly non combat and bad habits???
You cannot move any warships into the zone during combat movement because there is no combat. There are exceptions to this rule - like when you find enemy surface ships have been built in your zone and you move to escape combat. So yes, bad habits, need to change. It’s to your benefit - always better to decide what to move AFTER rolling dice, not committing before rolling dice.
lets say u do an amphibious assault along with planes and additional land units from an adjacent territory. After the first round of combat even though you have both sea and land units, you decide to retreat. what is the procedure here??
No problem. You must retreat ALL air and overland ground units at the same time. You must leave all amphibious assault ground units to battle to the death. The rulebook says you should keep track of which units came over-land and which unloaded from transports while choosing casualties, for this reason.