• It’s my understanding the the USA/China turns are considered to be simultaneous.  However, since one country must go first, it is the USA players choice which is ‘run’ first.

  • Official Q&A

    @Zhukov44:

    Let’s say China goes before the USA.  Can USA land fighters on territories China just captured?

    No.  Both powers share a turn, so the restriction against landing air units in newly captured territories applies.


  • If the US gets radar, then brings an AA gun to UK, then since only one AA gun can fire at a time, which AA gun fires if Germany strategic bombs the UK?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @kdfsjljklgjfg:

    If the US gets radar, then brings an AA gun to UK, then since only one AA gun can fire at a time, which AA gun fires if Germany strategic bombs the UK?

    The one with radar.  The defenders decide which one fires when there is more than one power’s AA gun, so the better one will always fire.

  • Official Q&A

    Correct.


  • @Krieghund:

    1. The only special rule is that it can’t leave China, even to fly out and back in on the same turn.  All other rules apply normally.

    This rule should be deleted: in real war, they were a voluntair US air corps. They were not chinese, so the rule should not include the fighter. It has absolutely no sense that the FTs, if survive J1, cannot escape to home or bomb jap trannies

    Well, the whole rule should be deleted from all the games, past, present or future,  because is a rule beyond realms of logic. Fix China for once


  • The US and China can attack the same territory and act as if all attacking units belong to the same power, right?

  • Official Q&A

    No.  The Combat Move and Conduct Combat phases for the two powers are conducted separately (in whichever order the US player desires).

  • '10

    @Krieghund:

    No.  The Combat Move and Conduct Combat phases for the two powers are conducted separately (in whichever order the US player desires).

    Can the US and China sequentially attack the same territory in China in the same turn ?

    eg. 2US bombers with paras clearing or nearly clearing Yunan followed by a Chinese attack.

  • Official Q&A

    @Battlingmaxo:

    Can the US and China sequentially attack the same territory in China in the same turn ?

    eg. 2US bombers with paras clearing or nearly clearing Yunan followed by a Chinese attack.

    Yes.

  • '10

    A sz 5 sub can now block bombardment from an ampib if it chooses not to submerge (ie. the transport cannot offload while the sub is afloat so it must be destroyed thus negating  bombardment)

  • Official Q&A

    A sub by itself can never block an amphibious assault or bombardment, as the attacker may choose to ignore it.  Only if the attacker chooses to engage the sub will it prevent bombardment (and possibly the landing, if it wins).


  • Question: 
    Can a UK AC next to an IC abandon USA fighters that are stationed on it behind before moving?

    What if UK build a second AC in same sea zone where the US fighters were left ( if you can ), do they land on it?

    Thanks


  • @Corbeau:

    Question:  
    Can a UK AC next to an IC abandon USA fighters that are stationed on it behind before moving?

    What if UK build a second AC in same sea zone where the US fighters were left ( if you can ), do they land on it?

    Thanks

    #1 - No, the friendly planes are cargo on the UK carrier and remain inactive and stay with the carrier throughout the turn.  I’m pretty sure the only time they could leave the UK carrier during the UK turn is if the CV is sunk during combat and the planes need to find a new landing place.

    #2 - Moot point, given #1.  Similarly, you can’t move (vs. build) another CV into the sz to collect those planes.  they stay with the original carrier.


  • @Krieghund:

    A sub by itself can never block an amphibious assault or bombardment, as the attacker may choose to ignore it.  Only if the attacker chooses to engage the sub will it prevent bombardment (and possibly the landing, if it wins).

    If it’s just an unescorted transport, can the sub take a pot shot like in P40?

  • Official Q&A

    @TimTheEnchanter:

    I’m pretty sure the only time they could leave the UK carrier during the UK turn is if the CV is sunk during combat and the planes need to find a new landing place.

    If the CV is sunk in combat during the UK turn, the UK will be the attacker, so the guest planes will go down with it.

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    If it’s just an unescorted transport, can the sub take a pot shot like in P40?

    No.


  • @Krieghund:

    @TimTheEnchanter:

    I’m pretty sure the only time they could leave the UK carrier during the UK turn is if the CV is sunk during combat and the planes need to find a new landing place.

    If the CV is sunk in combat during the UK turn, the UK will be the attacker, so the guest planes will go down with it.

    Oh yeah. Right.   😛  Sorry about that… I threw that line in at the last minute without really thinking about it.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    On that note, in online play, very few players understand the importance of stating what carriers the fighters are on.  It’s never an issue with face to face play, because the fighters are physically on the carriers.

    I put carriers and/or fighters just across the borderline of a zone so that ABattlemap doesn’t mix them together.

    If there are multiple carriers, or open slots on carriers, it is important to state or show unambiguously which carriers the fighters are on.

    For example, you have 2 carriers and 2 fighters.  You land the fighters in the sea zone with 2 carriers.  If you don’t state what carriers the fighters are on, they could both be on one carrier, or 1 fighter on each carrier.  Then when an allied power comes along and lands one or more fighters in the zone on the 2 carriers, it matters where the previous fighters were.  If the carriers split up, or if they go into combat, it can be very significant.  A lot of players online are oblivious to this, and don’t realize that it matters to state what carriers fighters are on, even before there is ever a multi-national force.

    Just thought it might be helpful to point that out since we’re on that topic.  Getting tired of pointing it out to practically each different person I play online….  🙂


  • @gamerman01:

    If there are multiple carriers, or open slots on carriers, it is important to state or show unambiguously which carriers the fighters are on.

    my assumption is that the ftr goes on the same nation as the carrier, unless specified.


  • @gamerman01:

    On that note, in online play, very few players understand the importance of stating what carriers the fighters are on.  It’s never an issue with face to face play, because the fighters are physically on the carriers.

    I put carriers and/or fighters just across the borderline of a zone so that ABattlemap doesn’t mix them together.

    If there are multiple carriers, or open slots on carriers, it is important to state or show unambiguously which carriers the fighters are on.

    For example, you have 2 carriers and 2 fighters.  You land the fighters in the sea zone with 2 carriers.  If you don’t state what carriers the fighters are on, they could both be on one carrier, or 1 fighter on each carrier.  Then when an allied power comes along and lands one or more fighters in the zone on the 2 carriers, it matters where the previous fighters were.  If the carriers split up, or if they go into combat, it can be very significant.  A lot of players online are oblivious to this, and don’t realize that it matters to state what carriers fighters are on, even before there is ever a multi-national force.

    Just thought it might be helpful to point that out since we’re on that topic.  Getting tired of pointing it out to practically each different person I play online….  🙂

    I’ve thought of that also, but I haven’t run across a case where it made a difference yet, so I haven’t needed to specify/say anything…

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @SAS:

    I’ve thought of that also, but I haven’t run across a case where it made a difference yet, so I haven’t needed to specify/say anything…

    Yeah - doesn’t happen every game, but it does come up from time to time.  Not terribly rare for a carrier group to split up and go separate ways, or for one or more of the carriers in question to enter a naval attack, where it suddenly becomes very important what carriers the different fighters are on.  🙂


  • hrmm, I did not find any rules that states you must bring along the planes on an AC, quite the contrary in fact. When it’s your own planes, they must move with their own movement.

    As for guest planes, technically they do not move at all if you leave them behind. They stay in their zone, thus inactive. Only the AC is moving under it’s own movement. While it is stated that if they move, it is as cargo, I did not read anywhere they MUST move with the AC.

    I never really had a clear answer in the rules about this so I tought I would ask. We view our fighters as patrolling that sea zone like any other unit, not landed on the AC but rather supported by it. They will defend like any other units if attacked but can’t attack on their host turn.

    The only difference/condition we agree on for planes in regard of other units is they must have an AC to support them by the end of any turn.

    We also have a gentlemen rules so a host AC cannot extend the range of guest fighters by more than it’s normal maximum range between US+UK turns combined.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @Corbeau:

    hrmm, I did not find any rules that states you must bring along the planes on an AC, quite the contrary in fact. When it’s your own planes, they must move with their own movement.

    As for guest planes, technically they do not move at all if you leave them behind. They stay in their zone, thus inactive. Only the AC is moving under it’s own movement. While it is stated that if they move, it is as cargo, I did not read anywhere they MUST move with the AC.

    I never really had a clear answer in the rules about this so I tought I would ask. We view our fighters as patrolling that sea zone like any other unit, not landed on the AC but rather supported by it. They will defend like any other units if attacked but can’t attack on their host turn.

    The only difference/condition we agree on for planes in regard of other units is they must have an AC to support them by the end of any turn.

    We also have a gentlemen rules so a host AC cannot extend the range of guest fighters by more than it’s normal maximum range between US+UK turns combined.

    This is all completely contrary to the rulebook.  The fighters ARE cargo, as in cargo that must move with its vehicle - no different from infantry on a transport.  Fighters don’t patrol.  You guys made that up yourselves.  And according to the rulebook, allied carriers absolutely can extend the range of other fighters, by moving on their own turn.  That’s the way it works.  You want to house rule it, that’s your own business, but all this is contrary to the rulebook.  Krieghund will confirm, I’m sure.


  • As in cargo if they enter combat on an allied turn.
    Find me the line where it states they MUST move with the AC

    Also, allied fighters DO defend if attacked by an ennemy. It’s not contrary to the rules.

  • Official Q&A

    Carrier fighters are only “in the air” on their turn and when they’re being attacked.  As a result, guest fighters always move along with their carriers on the carriers’ turn as cargo.  This is covered in the fighter and carrier unit descriptions on pages 27 and 28.

Suggested Topics

  • 6
  • 2
  • 10
  • 27
  • 4
  • 44
  • 54
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

37
Online

16.2k
Users

37.8k
Topics

1.6m
Posts