Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

AA50 Rules Errata and Q+A


  • Official Answers

    This being a reprint, the FAQ still applies, so feel free to use the optional rules in the FAQ.



  • apologies for not going thru 72 pages of this thread (or even doing a search), flog my lazy a$$ for that  😮

    Can I non-combat a sub into a SZ that contains a Destroyer and immediately submerge?  I know I have to stop in a SZ with a destroyer (can not pass thru), but not sure just moving into the same SZ as the DD would always require combat if I wanted to enter and dive without a battle.

    Thank you!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yes, you can non-com a sub into a fleet including a destroyer and there will never be any combat - the conduct combat phase is past.

    And no one is expected to go through the past posts, so there will be no flogging.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @axis_roll:

    Can I non-combat a sub into a SZ that contains a Destroyer and immediately submerge?

    You can non-combat move into that SZ but you cannot submerge. Submerging is done during Conduct Combat Phase. Also a Destroyer cancels the Submersible ability of subs.
    Combat would result in case the move happened during Combat Move Phase.


  • 2018 Customizer

    @P@nther:

    @axis_roll:

    Can I non-combat a sub into a SZ that contains a Destroyer and immediately submerge?

    You can non-combat move into that SZ but you cannot submerge. Submerging is done during Conduct Combat Phase. Also a Destroyer cancels the Submersible ability of subs.
    Combat would result in case the move happened during Combat Move Phase.

    So when would the ensuing combat occur? Does it necessarily happen during the next Conduct Combat phase, or does it only occur if the active power has combat to conduct in that zone?

    Can I sketch some scenarios?

    1. G sub moves into SZ with UK DD.
    on next (UK) turn, can they move DD out of that zone, avoiding combat? If so, is that a combat move or a non-combat move?

    2. G sub moves into SZ with US DD.
    on next (UK) turn, if they have no units in (and move no units into) that SZ, does combat still occur between the G sub and US DD? Can the UK move through that space and ignore the sub, even though it is not ‘submerged?’


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @vodot:

    @P@nther:

    @axis_roll:

    Can I non-combat a sub into a SZ that contains a Destroyer and immediately submerge?

    You can non-combat move into that SZ but you cannot submerge. Submerging is done during Conduct Combat Phase. Also a Destroyer cancels the Submersible ability of subs.
    Combat would result in case the move happened during Combat Move Phase.

    So when would the ensuing combat occur? Does it necessarily happen during the next Conduct Combat phase, or does it only occur if the active power has combat to conduct in that zone?

    Can I sketch some scenarios?

    1. G sub moves into SZ with UK DD.
    on next (UK) turn, can they move DD out of that zone, avoiding combat? If so, is that a combat move or a non-combat move?

    2. G sub moves into SZ with US DD.
    on next (UK) turn, if they have no units in (and move no units into) that SZ, does combat still occur between the G sub and US DD? Can the UK move through that space and ignore the sub, even though it is not ‘submerged?’

    Combat is initiated by the power moving during Combat Move Phase. It is resolved during the Conduct Combat Phase immediately after the Combat Move Phase.

    Scenario 1: Here the “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Sea Zones” rules apply (rulebook page 14). The UK destroyer moves from a hostile sea zone to escape combat as its combat move (also on page 13), then.

    Scenario 2: In case Germany moves the sub into the SZ during Combat Move Phase, combat occurs during Germany’s Conduct Combat Phase.
    In case Germany moves the sub there during Noncombat Move Phase no combat occurs, as this is not a Combat Move and the Conduct Combat Phase is over for that German turn. UK can move through that space simply ignoring the German sub - (the German sub can’t be submerged, as submerging takes place only during Conduct Combat Phase). When it comes to US’ turn, US can choose to engage the sub or not.


  • 2018 Customizer

    @P@nther:

    @vodot:

    @P@nther:

    @axis_roll:

    Can I non-combat a sub into a SZ that contains a Destroyer and immediately submerge?

    You can non-combat move into that SZ but you cannot submerge. Submerging is done during Conduct Combat Phase. Also a Destroyer cancels the Submersible ability of subs.
    Combat would result in case the move happened during Combat Move Phase.

    So when would the ensuing combat occur? Does it necessarily happen during the next Conduct Combat phase, or does it only occur if the active power has combat to conduct in that zone?

    Can I sketch some scenarios?

    1. G sub moves into SZ with UK DD.
    on next (UK) turn, can they move DD out of that zone, avoiding combat? If so, is that a combat move or a non-combat move?

    2. G sub moves into SZ with US DD.
    on next (UK) turn, if they have no units in (and move no units into) that SZ, does combat still occur between the G sub and US DD? Can the UK move through that space and ignore the sub, even though it is not ‘submerged?’

    Combat is initiated by the power moving during Combat Move Phase. It is resolved during the Conduct Combat Phase immediately after the Combat Move Phase.

    Scenario 1: Here the “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Sea Zones” rules apply (rulebook page 14). The UK destroyer moves from a hostile sea zone to escape combat as its combat move (also on page 13), then.

    Scenario 2: In case Germany moves the sub into the SZ during Combat Move Phase, combat occurs during Germany’s Conduct Combat Phase.
    In case Germany moves the sub there during Noncombat Move Phase no combat occurs, as this is not a Combat Move and the Conduct Combat Phase is over for that German turn. UK can move through that space simply ignoring the German sub - (the German sub can’t be submerged, as submerging takes place only during Conduct Combat Phase). When it comes to US’ turn, US can choose to engage the sub or not.

    Ok, so units of two opposing powers can be present in the same SZ without combat, as long as it is not the Conduct Combat phase during one of those powers’ turn? Appreciate the help and your patience.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @vodot:

    Ok, so units of two opposing powers can be present in the same SZ without combat, …

    All that has been said is covered by the rulebook’s turn order and the destroyer and sub special abilities.

    Please see:

    @rulebook:

    A destroyer cancels the Sub Movement special ability of any enemy submarine that moves into the sea zone with it. This
    means that the submarine must immediately end its movement, whether combat or noncombat, upon entering the sea zone. If
    a submarine ends its combat movement in a sea zone with an enemy destroyer, combat will result.

    @rulebook:

    Sub Movement: Submarines treat hostile sea zones as if they were friendly for purposes of both combat and noncombat
    movement. However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy destroyer, its movement ends immediately. If
    it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.

    Also:

    @rulebook:

    Phase 5: Noncombat Move

    Only aircraft and submarines may move through hostile spaces during this phase.

    Other (than submarines) ships can’t treat hostile seazones as friendly.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    I wanna be like P@nther when I grow up!
    What a pro



  • Hi, naval question.

    Japanese attack USA:

    • 1 submarine, 3 fighters, 1 bomber (Japanese)
    • 2 submarines, 1 destroyer (USA)

    I want to know what can happen if USA decides NOT to submerse its submarines.

    The USA submarines will have a 1st strike against the Japanese submarine. Let’s assume they miss. After that, the Japanese roll all dice simultaneously (no 1st strike). Suppose all Japanese units strike hits, are USA then allowed to assign all these hits to USA destroyer? The Japanese submarine is capable of hitting a USA submarine, but it is obviously in USA’s interest to assign all hits to the same unit (destroyer). Is that legal?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Ozymandiac:

    Hi, naval question.

    Japanese attack USA:

    • 1 submarine, 3 fighters, 1 bomber (Japanese)
    • 2 submarines, 1 destroyer (USA)

    I want to know what can happen if USA decides NOT to submerse its submarines.

    The USA submarines will have a 1st strike against the Japanese submarine. Let’s assume they miss. After that, the Japanese roll all dice simultaneously (no 1st strike). Suppose all Japanese units strike hits, are USA then allowed to assign all these hits to USA destroyer? The Japanese submarine is capable of hitting a USA submarine, but it is obviously in USA’s interest to assign all hits to the same unit (destroyer). Is that legal?

    No, it is not.

    @rulebook:

    As many hits as possible must be assigned. For instance, if 1 cruiser and
    2 submarines attack a carrier with a fighter and score 3 hits, the defender must assign
    the cruiser hit to the fighter and the submarine hits to the carrier. The defender may not
    assign the cruiser hit to the carrier, as the subs cannot hit the fighter and 1 sub hit would
    be lost.

    So the Japanese submarine’s hit must be assigned to a US submarine, as the Japanese air units can only hit the US destroyer.



  • @P@nther:

    @Ozymandiac:

    Hi, naval question.

    Japanese attack USA:

    • 1 submarine, 3 fighters, 1 bomber (Japanese)
    • 2 submarines, 1 destroyer (USA)

    I want to know what can happen if USA decides NOT to submerse its submarines.

    The USA submarines will have a 1st strike against the Japanese submarine. Let’s assume they miss. After that, the Japanese roll all dice simultaneously (no 1st strike). Suppose all Japanese units strike hits, are USA then allowed to assign all these hits to USA destroyer? The Japanese submarine is capable of hitting a USA submarine, but it is obviously in USA’s interest to assign all hits to the same unit (destroyer). Is that legal?

    No, it is not.

    @rulebook:

    As many hits as possible must be assigned. For instance, if 1 cruiser and
    2 submarines attack a carrier with a fighter and score 3 hits, the defender must assign
    the cruiser hit to the fighter and the submarine hits to the carrier. The defender may not
    assign the cruiser hit to the carrier, as the subs cannot hit the fighter and 1 sub hit would
    be lost.

    So the Japanese submarine’s hit must be assigned to a US submarine, as the Japanese air units can only hit the US destroyer.

    Thanks Panther, exactly what I was looking for. I looked in the rulebook but couldn’t find it. Thanks for taking the time to find out


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

67
Online

13.0k
Users

33.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts