Thank you for the answers. I have a couple more questions.
First situation: This is an actual situation from a game we just played. Germany has the Paratrooper technology and holds Karelia, and is really putting pressure on Russia. It is Germany’s turn, and he has 3 Long Range Paratrooping Heavy Bombers 8-) in Germany with 3 Infantry who whould really like to visit Moscow this turn. Also Germany has 2 Armor in Karelia, having just built them last turn. Moscow is only defended by 6 Infantry, and Belorussia has no defenders (but is still under Russian control). Russia also controls Archangelsk, Eastern Ukraine, Caucaus, and Kazahk with troops on each territory. I want to attack Moscow by blitzing my 2 Armor through Belorussia having my 3 Long Range Paratrooping Heavy Bombers with 3 Infantry join in with them in the attack on Moscow. I should be able to take it with these forces, but the Russian player says that the Paratroopers can not go past Belorussia due to the restriction on the Paratroopers flying behind the lines. What is correct?
Second Situation: This is a partially contrived situation to help me understand the rules better. If America had the Rocket tech, UK had the Radar tech, and Russia had no techs, but Karelia, controlled by Russia, contained an AA gun from each of the Allies, then I assume the following: that on Russia’s turn, he would not get the Archangelsk bonus, and on America’s turn he could fire Rockets at Germany from that AA gun, and if Germany attacks Karelia with air units, then the UK AA gun would fire at a “2” instead of the Russian AA gun firing at a “1”.
Now, if Germany takes Karelia, does the Radar AA gun still fire for Germany at a “2”, and can he now fire the Rocket AA gun at England or Moscow?
If Russia takes Karelia back, then do the AA guns revert back to each original owner, or does Russia now control all 3?
If Russia takes Karelia back during his Combat Move (of course), then may he move his AA gun to Belorussia during his non-combat move in the same turn?