Q. On page 29 it says that your aircraft may hit enemy submarines if you have a destroyer in the sea zone, but it doesn’t say anywhere in the rules that aircraft can’t hit submarines without a destroyer present. Do you always need a destroyer in a battle in order for your air units to hit enemy subs?
A. Yes. Air units can only hit subs if there is a friendly destroyer on the battle board, otherwise hits made by air units must be applied to units other than submarines. If you’re the attacker, destroyers in the same sea zone belonging to your ally don’t count, since they’re not involved in the battle.
THX Kriegshund, you are right!
I apologize to all readers of my previous posts for having answered without this important information.
In this case the subs would sink the transport without interference of the fighters.
The Game of Axis and Allies is about making a mathematical machine of probabilities that beats someone elses. That includes the territories you take, the positions your units are in, the options they have, and the IPC’s you are making.
This game IS about the Economics.
Excellent post Umrmeche, combine this type of play, with a General focus of making sure you are constantly giving oppurtunites to take advantage of your opponents and the mistakes they make, and you’ve got a winning strategy 80% of the time
You have to remember, lots of People give up before their capital ever falls, and the logisitics of making that happen anyways, are mostly bent on the Economics of the Situation.
Consider this thinking when you are buying your units too.