Can england use its transports to move out of the hostile zone, pick up troops, and then move back in to the hostile zone (and then conduct an amphibious assault as normal if the subs are defeated) or must the transports, if they retreat, end up in a friendly sea zone?
Yes, this is legal, as long as the sea zone in which the transports are loading units is friendly.
Further (and related) are there ANY restrictions on movement caused by starting in a hostile zone rather than a friendly?
The movement must be done in the Combat Movement phase. It must follow all of the rules for Combat Movement, except that it need not end in combat.
An AA Gun only fires once per combat - in the opening fire step of the first cycle only. It has been this way (with different terminology sometimes but essentially unchanged) in Classic, Pacific, Europe, and Revised, both OOB and LHTR. Never any different.
The thing is, you can pretty much take out the US with a lesser landing than that…
Japan lands in Alaska and WCan from SZ63
Japan lands in Mexico from Hawaii
Germany lands in Panama, Cuba, and ECan.
USA (the 48 states) has not been TOUCHED , but they are effectiely out of it, at least for many, many turns (unless the UK can get the German ships, or Russia can kick Japan out of Asia in the same turn)
How are you going to pull of a landing like that? Germany shouldn’t have a chance of landing t three different territories
It’s assumed that Japan has 5 inf 5 tank in W. Canada, while Germany lands 4 inf 4 tank or so with a Baltic transport buy on G1 followed by move to W. Europe followed by transport to E. Canada. Following turn allows landing in Panama and Cuba as US is on defense.
HOW COULD U MISS DAT? LOLZ!
(I’m kidding . . . anyone could miss that. Hell, I still don’t get it, really.)