Hi all, newbie doubts about A&A. Help please.

• Hi there.

I’m a newbie learning this game. I’ve read yet the manual several times. I tried to play on the board and with TripleA and I have some doubt I hope u could answer:

1-. When u attack with an aircraft, can u move, for example with a basic fighter movement range of 4, to a territory 4 spaces of distance far away of the territory where it takes off? or I have to count the number of spaces to return to land?

For example, from the initial positions of the armies on the map, can I attack as germany with the fighter is on Western Europe to Caucasus 4 spaces or I can’t because I have to count 4 spaces between the attack itself and the returning to a friendly territory.

(I know that in TripleA I can’t, but I don’t know if this is the case on the board game, I don’t see it clear on the manual.

2-. When I have a fighter on an aircraft carrier, if I move on a non-combat movement the carrier (with the fighter on itself), for example, 2 spaces, can I move the fighter on the carrier its 4 spaces (from the space the carrier has just reached) if I didn’t move the fighter on the combat movement? Or I have to launch it before the carrier does his noncombat movement to fly it to friendly territory (or another aircraft carrier)?

In the manual only is said I have to launch the aircraft if I want to attack with the fighter, but the manual says nothing about launching it for the fighter’s noncombat movement.

Thanks in advance

• Official Q&A

The number of spaces that an air unit may move is the total number for the turn.  When you make a combat movement, you must reserve enough of the unit’s movement to make it back to a safe landing space (2 spaces out, 2 back; 3 spaces out, 1 back, etc.).  The only time you could move 4 spaces with a fighter in combat movement is when you’re attacking at sea and a friendly carrier will be in the sea zone by the end of your turn (unless you have Long-Range Aircraft, of course).