ok, thanks. One other quick question as this came up in my last game. If Japan takes Los Angeles to capture 10 cities for a major victory, does the game end there, or does the US get a chance to fight back and maybe take back the city??
Victory isn’t checked for until the end of each round, which occurs at the end of the US turn. So, in your example, the US would have a chance to take LA back (or any other Victory City).
However, if America lands a single infantry in S. Europe to get the 10th VC then that is it. The Axis never get a chance to liberate that VC, even if Germany has 10,000 tanks and 40,000 infantry in Germany and that’s the ONLY American on the board (save the transport that deposited him there.)
One of my MAJOR problems with the VC conditions for victory.
BTW, I prefer to play with the house rule that you need 9 Victory Cities and you need to HOLD THEM for a full game turn (from the collect income phase of your turn until the purchase units phase of your next turn) without losing them.
If at any point you lose a victory city, even if your ally gets it back for you, it no longer counts as one of the 9 you can count. (However if you hold the 9 until your ally’s next turn, it would count.)
I feel that slight adjustment to the rules really covers the exploit of landing one guy here or there to steal a victory in a game. It forces you to be able to hold your victory cities which really is the point of them. IMHO.