It seems that creating one sea zone out of the Bearing Straight wouldn’t be that great an advantage. With the two movement points for a transport one would be able to shift troops from Alaska to The Soviet Far East just as quickly as if there were only one sea zone between them.
I recently bought a copy of Axis and Allies over the internet at a used game place. The game is in great shape and runs perfectly. I know how to play the game from having played it at school but I have a question. The game i bought didn’t come with a rule book or instruction manual so I’m wondering, what is the system behind determining what dice turn red when you attack or are defending? I understand that you get to roll as many dice as men you have but what determines if the dice turn red and are a hit or not? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
In my opinion USSR taking Manchuria on T1 is practically a death warrant for Russia. Why?
1.) You would almost certainly take heavy losses in INF before you prevail.
2.) Japan will be forced to take back Manchuria on T1. This will indeed slow down Japan’s advance in East Asia for a turn, but the tradeoff is not worth it because…
3.) USSR is forced to either leave the rest of their Eastern territories underdefended, or to commit signifigant forces from the West to shore them up. Either way you’ve weakened USSR far more than the measly 3 IPC gain for 1 turn or the setback of Japan are worth.
CAVEAT:I suppose with careful follow-up planning by all the Allies, the situation could be exploited for a possible edge on Japan. A case in point would be if all the Allies gang up on Japan T1 with concerted attacks, or if the UK wish to place an IC on India. The USSR siezure of Manchuria could then prove valuable to the overall Allied picture. But in general I believe it would be far more useful for USSR, if he/she is feeling aggressive, to hit-and-run Manchuria by scoring 1 or 2 hits & retreating with whatever’s left, than to actually take the territory & set in motion a chain of events that would be detrimental to the Allied cause…
Just my opinion…
Call me lucky then. Because I have Hellcats and Lightnings in my AA50 set. It has never been mixed or had anything added or taken away. If you look on the back of the box of Spring '42 first edition you will see a US Hellcat in Africa also, even though it was in that edition.
Hmm…very puzzling. I don’t recall my copy of Anniversary containing Wildcats, so either I’m mistaken or I got a variant printing of it.