In my opinion USSR taking Manchuria on T1 is practically a death warrant for Russia. Why?
1.) You would almost certainly take heavy losses in INF before you prevail.
2.) Japan will be forced to take back Manchuria on T1. This will indeed slow down Japan’s advance in East Asia for a turn, but the tradeoff is not worth it because…
3.) USSR is forced to either leave the rest of their Eastern territories underdefended, or to commit signifigant forces from the West to shore them up. Either way you’ve weakened USSR far more than the measly 3 IPC gain for 1 turn or the setback of Japan are worth.
CAVEAT:I suppose with careful follow-up planning by all the Allies, the situation could be exploited for a possible edge on Japan. A case in point would be if all the Allies gang up on Japan T1 with concerted attacks, or if the UK wish to place an IC on India. The USSR siezure of Manchuria could then prove valuable to the overall Allied picture. But in general I believe it would be far more useful for USSR, if he/she is feeling aggressive, to hit-and-run Manchuria by scoring 1 or 2 hits & retreating with whatever’s left, than to actually take the territory & set in motion a chain of events that would be detrimental to the Allied cause…
Just my opinion…
I can’t remember how many times I had to erase a question I was asking and answered myself…
Our local group hasn’t played AA much in the last few years. Allies always win even with RR, germans with jet power and Japs with super subs.
The idea of bidding is re-kindling interest I must say.
also, if you are interested, I run a YouTube channel dedicated to the Milton Bradley version. Here is my first video covering some of the lesser known rules: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_u_mOFTcQA&t=666s
I agree with Zero on all his comments except on the above regarding battleships.
Battleships are allowed their special one shot only if they were not involved in a naval battle. If the battleship is present in the same SZ as a naval battle, it has to participate (just like any attacking transports present). After the naval battle, the battleship’s turn is done and it cannot fire its special one shot onto the land battle.
Wild2000 is right. Silly me. That’s a house rule we have that Battleships can participate in both battles. Silly me.
It doesn’t matter either way if he’s got them and you don’t you’re going to lose. Therefore the purchase of AA guns is irrelevent. Obviously if you’ve developed Heavies and have some extra cash then AA’s can be bought, but remember that someone with Heavies is likely going to target your factories so that you cannot develop this tech yourself. Once he can eliminate that threat the game is over. In other words you need to develop tech while you still can.