Mixed attack against subs and retire's rule question


  • Hi guys.

    Two little problems.

    1. What happens in this case:

    Attacker has 2sub, 2ftr, 1ac vs 2sub, 1dst

    No dst for attacker so defender’s sub are invisible to 2ftrs.
    No surprise attack because the defender has 1dst.

    Attacker rolls 2hits: 1 from sub and 1 from ftr.
    Now the defender has to choice the casualties. Could he choice the dst as casualty from the sub and no more else because the subs cannot be hitten by ftrs?

    1. Other thing:
      The attacker starts the turn with an enemy sub within his navy. Let’s assume 1sub, 1trn vs 1sub.
      The attacker decide to stay and combat, but, after the 1st round of combat (trn lost) he decides to retire. Where?
      The rules say “in a sea zone from where at least one combat unit comes”. What happens in this case? They were already there…

    Thx.
    Y.


  • 1.  No, you have to allocate all the hits if possible.

    2.  Well, thoeretically the attacker, using his 2 move points, could have moved out of the starting SZ, into any adja sea zone, and then back in to that starting SZ.  If he did so then he’d have a retreat path.  In your example though witha sub, it can submerge.

  • Official Q&A

    @yucatan:

    1. What happens in this case:

    Attacker has 2sub, 2ftr, 1ac vs 2sub, 1dst

    No dst for attacker so defender’s sub are invisible to 2ftrs.
    No surprise attack because the defender has 1dst.

    Attacker rolls 2hits: 1 from sub and 1 from ftr.
    Now the defender has to choice the casualties. Could he choice the dst as casualty from the sub and no more else because the subs cannot be hitten by ftrs?

    No.  All the hits must be assigned if possible, so the fighter hit must be assigned to the destroyer.

    @yucatan:

    1. Other thing:
      The attacker starts the turn with an enemy sub within his navy. Let’s assume 1sub, 1trn vs 1sub.
      The attacker decide to stay and combat, but, after the 1st round of combat (trn lost) he decides to retire. Where?
      The rules say “in a sea zone from where at least one combat unit comes”. What happens in this case? They were already there…

    In order to allow for the possibility of retreating, they must first move out of the original sea zone and then back into it during Combat Movement.  The sea zone moved through must of course be free of enemy units, otherwise they couldn’t leave it again once they entered.  If this isn’t possible, then neither is retreating.  Of course, the attacking sub may submerge in any case.

Suggested Topics

  • 50
  • 2
  • 4
  • 8
  • 4
  • 4
  • 5
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

53
Online

16.4k
Users

38.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts